Hear Bob Dylan's New Country Cover of Frank Sinatra - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Bob Dylan’s Country Cover of Frank Sinatra’s ‘I Could Have Told You’

Legendary musician announces new record of American standards, ‘Triplicate’

Bob Dylan unveiled a classic country cover of Frank Sinatra’s “I Could Have Told You,” set to appear on his new triple album of American standards, Triplicate, out March 31st via Columbia.

Over steady waves of pedal steel guitar and a soft-picked rhythm part, Dylan croons the Carl Sigman and Jimmy Van Heusen-penned torch song with grit. The simple but affecting arrangement is imbued with an extra bit of mournful depth at the end when a low cello begins to hum below Dylan’s scorched vocals.

Triplicate marks Dylan’s third album of standards, following 2015’s Shadows in the Night and last year’s Fallen Angels. The new collection is divided into three discs titled, ‘Til The Sun Goes Down, Devil Dolls, and Comin’ Home Late.

Like its predecessors, Triplicate boasts a number of songs made famous by Frank Sinatra including “The Best Is Yet to Come” and “September of My Years.” The new triple-disc set also features classics such as Herman Hupfeld’s “As Time Goes By,” Harold Arlen and Ted Koehler’s “Stormy Weather” and Charles Strouse and Lee Adams’ “Once Upon a Time.”

Triplicate is available to pre-order on iTunes, and as a CD or vinyl set. A three-LP deluxe edition is also available. Triplicate marks Dylan’s first album since he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature last year. 

Triplicate Track List

‘Til the Sun Goes Down

1. “I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plans”
2. “September of My Years”
3. “I Could Have Told You”
4. “Once Upon a Time”
5. “Stormy Weather”
6. “This Nearly Was Mine”
7. “That Old Feeling”
8. “It Gets Lonely Early”
9. “My One and Only Love”
10. “Trade Winds”

Devil Dolls

1. “Braggin'”
2. “As Time Goes By”
3. “Imagination”
4. “How Deep Is the Ocean”
5. “P.S. I Love You”
6. “The Best Is Yet to Come”
7. “But Beautiful”
8. “Here’s That Rainy Day”
9. “Where Is the One”
10. “There’s a Flaw in My Flue”

Comin’ Home Late

1. “Day In, Day Out”
2. “I Couldn’t Sleep a Wink Last Night”
3. “Sentimental Journey”
4. “Somewhere Along the Way”
5. “When the World Was Young”
6. “These Foolish Things”
7. “You Go to My Head”
8. “Stardust”
9. “It’s Funny to Everyone But Me”
10. “Why Was I Born”

In This Article: Bob Dylan


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.