Hear Blink-182's Blistering Adolescent Anthem 'Parking Lot' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Hear Blink-182’s Blistering Adolescent Anthem ‘Parking Lot’

Pop-punk trio prep ‘California’ deluxe edition with 11 new tracks

Blink-182 recall the glory days of $10 shows and skateboarding injuries in their blistering new song, “Parking Lot.” The track will appear on the upcoming deluxe edition of the band’s last album California, out May 19th, according to Alternative Press.

The track comes with a vibrant lyric video and finds new guitarist/singer Matt Skiba and bassist Mark Hoppus reminiscing about drinking on trains, seeing Naked Raygun, listening to the Violent Femmes and the Smiths and partaking in the most adolescent activity: petty loitering. “Parking Lot” boasts a restless chug of drums, bass and power chords, but also a heavy breakdown and a giddy sugar rush chorus, in which Hoppus and Skiba sing, “We are forgotten young suburbia/ Loose on the streets of California/ Fuck this place, let’s put up a parking lot!”

The forthcoming deluxe edition of California will include 11 new songs, along with an acoustic version of album cut, “Bored to Death.” The band will also embark on a North American tour March 22nd in Austin.

Blink-182 released California last June. The album notably marked the group’s first with Skiba and without co-founder, Tom DeLonge, who left Blink-182 in 2015. DeLonge has since thrown himself into a massive multi-media project, To the Stars, which comprises music, film and books.

Blink-182 California Deluxe Edition Track List

1. “Parking Lot”
2. “Misery”
3. “Good Old Days”
4. “Don’t Mean Anything”
5. “Hey I’m Sorry”
6. “Last Train Home”
7. “Wildfire”
8. “6/8”
9. “Long Lost Feeling”
10. “Bottom of the Ocean”
11. “Can’t Get You More Pregnant”
12. “Bored to Death” (Acoustic) 

In This Article: Blink-182


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.