Grunge Pioneers Mother Love Bone Prep Box Set - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Grunge Pioneers Mother Love Bone Prep Complete Recordings Box Set

Seattle band, featuring late singer Andrew Wood and Pearl Jam’s Jeff Ament and Stone Gossard, remaster catalog and empty vaults for 3CD/1DVD set

Mother Love Bone, Mother Love Bone box set, Mother Love Bone on earth as it is, Mother Love Bone pearl jam box set

The complete recorded works of Mother Love Bone, the influential Seattle rock outfit, will be remastered and collected for a four-disc box set.

James Bland

The complete recorded works of Mother Love Bone, the influential Seattle rock outfit that featured future Pearl Jam members Jeff Ament and Stone Gossard, will be remastered and collected for a four-disc box set titled On Earth as It Is, due out November 4th.

The package’s first disc is dedicated to the 17 songs found on the lone album (Apple) and EP (Shine) that Mother Love Bone recorded with its lead singer Andrew Wood, who died of a heroin overdose in March 1990, months before the release of their debut LP.

Ament, Gossard and Mother Love Bone’s Bruce Fairweather formed the band out of the ashes of their previous outfit, Green River. Soon after Wood’s death, Ament and Gossard paired with Wood’s former roommate Chris Cornell for the tribute group Temple of the Dog; that Soundgarden/Pearl Jam side project released their own extensive reissue in September.

On Earth as It Is‘ second and third discs gather b-sides, alternate versions, demos, live tracks and unreleased songs, including Wood’s own demo recording of “Chloe Dancer” and a live rendition of “Stardog Champion” that Cornell and Pearl Jam performed live in 2011 during the PJ20 festivities.

Mother Love Bone’s 35-minute video The Love Bone Earth Affair will arrive on DVD for the first time ever as On Earth As It Is’ fourth disc, where it’s paired with the “Captain Hi Top” music video and two never-before-seen live performances, including the band’s cover of Queen’s “I’m in Love With My Car.”

On Earth as It Is, out on both CD and vinyl, is available to pre-order now through the Pearl Jam Store and digitally on iTunes. The box set comes housed in a package based on Ament’s Mother Love Bone mural on the wall of Seattle’s Easy Street Records and boasts a 24-page booklet with photos and lyrics.

On Earth as It Is Track List

Disc 1: Apple / Shine

1. “This Is Shangrila”
2. “Stardog Champion”
3. “Holy Roller”
4. “Bone China”
5. “Come Bite The Apple”
6. “Stargazer”
7. “Heartshine”
8. “Captain Hi Top”
9. “Man Of Golden Words”
10. “Capricorn Sister”
11. “Gentle Groove”
12. “Mr. Danny Boy”
13. “Crown Of Thorns”
14. “Thru Fade Away”
15. “Mindshaker Meltdown”
16. “Half Ass Monkey Boy”
17. “Chloe Dancer / Crown Of Thorns”

Disc 2: B-sides / Alt Versions

1. “Holy Roller”
2. “Bone China”
3. “Hold Your Head Up”
4. “Capricorn Sister”
5. “Zanzibar”
6. “Lady Godiva Blues”
7. “Red Hot Shaft”
8. “Seasons Changing” (Live at the Plant)
9. “Stardog Champion” (Live at the Plant)

Disc 3: B-sides / Alt Versions

1. “Lubricated Muscle Drive”
2. “Savwahfair Slide”
3. “Jumpin Jehova”
4. “Showdown”
5. “Bloodshot Ruby”
6. “Elijah”
7. “Chloe Dancer (Demo)”
8. “Have You Ever Kissed A Lady”
9. “Otherside”
10. “These R No Blues”
11. “Made Of Rainbows”
12. “Bloody Shame”
13. “One Time Fire”
14. “Stardog Champion” – Chris Cornell and Pearl Jam (Live)

Disc 4: DVD

The Love Bone Earth Affair
“Captain Hi Top” music video
“Half Ass Monkey Boy” (Live from the Oz)
“I’m In Love With My Car” (Live from the Oz) 

In This Article: Mother Love Bone, Pearl Jam


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.