Gorillaz Detail First Album in Six Years, 'Humanz' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Gorillaz Detail First Album in Six Years, ‘Humanz’

Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett’s cartoon quartet premiere wild “Saturn Barz” video as well as three more new album cuts

Gorillaz will release their first album in six years, Humanz, April 28th. Mastermind Damon Albarn premiered two new songs from the record – “Andromeda” featuring D.R.A.M. and “Saturn Barz” with Popcaan – on MistaJam’s BBC Radio 1 show before releasing the tracks, as well as two Humanz offerings, individually late Thursday.

On “Andromeda,” Albarn croons softly over a swift dance beat laced with spacey synths while D.R.A.M. turns up for a quick but playful guest appearance. “Saturnz Barz” captures a similar aesthetic with Albarn filtering his vocals through static and Jamaican artist Popcaan delivering a sinister verse over a guttural rumble sprinkled with siren-like synth flares.

Gorillaz also unveiled a Jamie Hewlett-directed 360-degree virtual reality version of the “Saturn Barz” video.

After premiering “Saturnz Barz” and “Andromeda,” Gorillaz resurfaced late Thursday to debut the “art track” for two more Humanz cuts, “Ascension” and “We Got the Power.” The former is a frenzied sonic assault featuring Vince Staples, who explodes out of the gate with some rapid-fire rhymes. Albarn appears on the chorus to ease the pace before the rapper reappears with another electric verse.

Humanz‘ closing track, “We Got the Power,” is a throbbing rave track reminiscent of British acid house groups like the KLF and 808 State, with Savages’ Jehnny Beth guesting to provide vocals and toasting. “We got the power to be loving each other no matter what happens / We got the power to do that,” Albarn chants on the chorus.

The 14-track Humanz marks Gorillaz first album since 2010’s The Fall and boasts an impressive list of guests that includes Mavis Staples, Grace Jones, Pusha T, Danny Brown, Kelela, De La Soul, Kali Uchis, Jamie Principle, Anthony Hamilton, Peven Everett and Zebra Katz. The deluxe edition of the record will boast appearances from Kilo Kish, Peven Everett and even Carly Simon. Humanz will also include the previously released track, “Hallelujah Money,” with Benjamin Clementine.

Gorillaz Humanz Track List

1. “Ascension” feat. Vince Staples
2. “Strobelite” feat. Peven Everett
3. “Saturnz Barz” feat. Popcaan
4. “Momentz” feat. De La Soul
5. “Submission” feat. Danny Brown & Kelela
6. “Charger” feat. Grace Jones
7. “Andromeda” feat. D.R.A.M.
8. “Busted and Blue”
9. “Carnival” feat. Anthony Hamilton
10. “Let Me Out” feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T
11. “Sex Murder Party” feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz
12. “She’s My Collar” feat. Kali Uchis
13. “Hallelujah Money” feat. Benjamin Clementine
14. “We Got The Power” feat. Jehnny Beth

In This Article: Damon Albarn, Gorillaz


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.