Giorgio Moroder Releases First New Song in 20 Years, Giorgio's Theme, for Adult Swim summer singles series - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Giorgio Moroder Releases First New Song in 20 Years

Resurgent disco king kicks off Adult Swim’s summer music series with epic “Giorgio’s Theme”

Giorgio Moroder performsGiorgio Moroder performs

Giorgio Moroder performs in Los Angeles.

Gabriel Olsen/FilmMagic

Resurgent disco deity Giorgio Moroder has kicked off this year’s Adult Swim Singles series in style, offering up his first new song in 20 years. The sprawling, eight-minute dance floor opus “Giorgio’s Theme” is available below or download it for free via Adult Swim.

Propelled by a synth line reminiscent of Donna Summer’s “I Feel Love,” the track finds Moroder moving his spacious grooves through a funky guitar interlude and two sparse piano breakdowns that build back towards bombast with maddening delight.

Over on the Adult Swim website, Moroder chats about his massive career, his fruitful collaborations with Summer, the challenge of scoring Scarface and his thoughts on contemporary EDM. “I like the sounds of EDM, the guys create new sounds, beautiful sounds,” he says. “The melodies, it’s a little less. I like the kind of melodies I did with Donna Summer, or Flashdance, where you have a verse, a chorus — a song setup. Now it’s a little more difficult or different, because it’s eight bars of one piece of music, and eight bars of a different one. They’re all great, but the connection sometimes is not there.”

Find Out Where ‘Rolling Stone’ Readers Ranked Donna Summer’s ‘I Feel Love’ in Our Poll of the Best Disco Songs of All Time

After staying relatively quiet for years, Moroder has been welcomed back into the world of dance music with open arms since collaborating with Daft Punk on their 2013 album, Random Access Memories. Moroder recently remixed Coldplay’s “Midnight” (off their new album Ghost Stories), and has a string of live dates set for this summer.

As for this year’s Adult Swim singles program, “Giorgio’s Theme” is just the first in a long line of tracks set to see release each week through September 22nd. Next week’s track will come courtesy of Machinedrum, while upcoming artists include Future, Speedy Ortiz, Run the Jewels, Tim Hecker, Captain Murphy, Diarrhea Planet, Deafheaven, Mastodon and Gibby Haynes, KA, Destruction Unit and more.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.