Frank Ocean Unveils 'Endless' Visual Album Stream - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Frank Ocean Unveils Contemplative ‘Endless’ Visual Album Stream

Singer scraps ‘Boys Don’t Cry’ title, will release new album separate from ‘Endless’ this weekend

Frank Ocean has unveiled a new visual album titled Endless, a precursor to his proper follow-up to 2012’s Channel Orange. Ocean took to his livestream on Thursday to preview new music for what he deemed Endless, his visual album that found the singer building a staircase while debuting new tunes.

Rolling Stone has confirmed that Endless is a different project from his proper new album. That album, set for release by Apple this weekend, was previously called Boys Don’t Cry, but Rolling Stone has learned that the singer has scrapped that title in favor of an alternate title.

Endless features an array of diverse musicians, including Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood, James Blake, Jazmine Sullivan, British R&B vocalist Sampha and producer Arca. The album also includes violins, double basses, violas and cellos from London Contemporary Orchestra, which was conducted by Robert Ames. 

Fans have anxiously followed the enigmatic musician’s online presence after the New York Times reported earlier this month that his sophomore album, then titled Boys Don’t Cry, would be released that week. Instead, fans were treated to the launch of what appeared to be a black-and-white livestream, where Ocean built boxes and previewed instrumental tracks.

On Thursday, he returned to the stream on his site, where he previewed new, contemplative full songs, complete with vocals, as he built a staircase within the same warehouse backdrop featured in the initial livestream.

Apple has also released a series of Ocean-related playlists ahead of his upcoming LP, including The Rise of Frank Ocean, Frank Ocean Samples and Frank Ocean’s Most Shazamed Tracks.

Endless Track List

1. “Device Control”
2. “Alabama”
3. “U-N-I-T-Y”
4. “Commes Des Garcons”
5. “Wither”
6. “In Here Somewhere”
7. “Sideways”
8. “Deathwish (ASR)”
9. “Rushes To”
10. “At Your Best (You Are Love)”
11. “Mine”
12. Ambience 001: “In a Certain Way”
13. Ambience 002: “Honeybaby”
14. “Hublots”
15. “Slide on Me”
16. “Florida”
17. “Rushes”
18. “Higgs”

In This Article: Frank Ocean


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.