Foster the People Bounce Back With 'Coming of Age,' Announce New Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Foster the People Bounce Back With ‘Coming of Age,’ Announce New Album

New single teases next record, ‘Supermodel’

Foster the People

Mark Foster of Foster the People performs in Mountain View, California.

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

Foster the People have been teasing their new LP for weeks, but they’ve finally revealed the details: Supermodel, the band’s second album, will be released on March 18th on Columbia Records. The 12-track effort is led by the new single “Coming of Age,” which is built on bright guitar riffs, layered vocals and snappy handclaps. The track is available to stream below.

Find Out Where Foster the People’s ‘Pumped Up Kicks’ Landed on Our List of the Best Singles of 2011

Foster the People broke out with their debut LP, 2011’s Torches, and its ubiquitous single “Pumped Up Kicks.” In the wake of that success, frontman Mark Foster composed the score for Alejandro Monteverde’s film Little Boy, which ended up inspiring the “more orchestral” direction of Supermodel

“Definitely working on the film and going to Prague and recording the orchestra, which I’d never done before – I’d never written a piece and then watched 50 musicians bring it to life – it’s one of the most powerful things I’ve ever been a part of, to see an orchestra construct an original piece of music,” Foster told Rolling Stone back in November. 

Foster also notes the influence of “North and West Africa,” particularly on opener “Are You What You Wanna Be,” which features a “6/8 African shuffle rhythm in the verse.” Overall, he says the album was intended to be “more organic and human, because the first record was so electronic and synthetic.”

“It’ll be interesting,” he says. “It’s not the record that people are gonna expect us to release second. It’s definitely an evolution for us, and it’s a more polarizing record for us, so I’m excited to see how it’s received, for better or worse.”

Track list for Supermodel:

1. “Are You What You Want to Be”
2. “Ask Yourself”
3. “Coming of Age”
4. “Nevermind”
5. “Pseudologia Fantastica”
6. “The Angelic Welcome of Mr. Jones”
7. “Best Friend”
8. “A Beginner’s Guide to Destroying the Moon”
9. “Goats in Trees”
10. “The Truth”
11. “Fire Escape”
12. “Tabloid Super Junky”

In This Article: Foster the People


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.