Home Music Music News

Fatboy Visits “Palookaville”

Fourth studio set due in October

Fatboy Slim will release Palookaville, his fourth album and first in four years, on October 5th.

Palookaville, the title a reference to the classic film On the Waterfront, reunites Slim (a.k.a. Norman Cook) with Funkadelic bassist Bootsy Collins (they worked together on “Weapon of Choice” from 2000’s Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars) on the set’s first single, “The Joker,” a reworking of the Steve Miller Band’s chart-topping 1973 song.

Other guests on Palookaville include Blackalicious’ Lateef on a pair of tracks (“Wonderful Night” and “The Journey”); Johnny Quality, a band from Cook’s hometown of Brighton, England (Long Way From Home”); and producer/DJ Justin Robertson (“Push and Shove”). Blur frontman Damon Albarn also contributes a vocal, returning the favor after Fatboy lent a production hand on Blur’s 2003 release, Think Tank.

Palookaville track list:

Don’t Let the Man
Slash Dot Dash
Wonderful Night
Long Way From Home
Put It Back Together
Masochistic Baby
Push and Shove
North West Three
The Journey
Song for Chesh
The Joker


Powered by