Faith No More Plot Reissue of Seminal Debut 'We Care A Lot' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Faith No More Plot Reissue of Seminal Debut ‘We Care A Lot’

Re-release to boast remastered LP, original demos, new mixes, live recordings

Faith No More; We Care A Lot; ReissueFaith No More; We Care A Lot; Reissue

Faith No More will reissue their debut album, 'We Care A Lot,' with original demos, new mixes and old live recordings.

Tony Mottram/Getty

Faith No More will reissue their 1985 debut album, We Care A Lot, August 19th via bassist Bill Gould’s Koolarrow Records.

We Care A Lot has been out of print for 20 years, and the reissue will boast a remastered version of the album, as well as nine bonus tracks comprising demos, new mixes and live tracks.

“This was an album that started as a demo, before any label had any interest in us,” Gould said in a statement. “[W]hen cleaning out my basement, I discovered the original master reels, and we all thought that resurrecting this from the original tapes would be a great way to reintroduce We Care A Lot into the world. Lastly, this has been a band effort; we are releasing this in the same way as we recorded it, deciding everything amongst ourselves and getting our hands deep into the nuts and bolts … just like we used to.”

For the We Care A Lot reissue, Faith No More tapped longtime producer Matt Wallace to remix three cuts, the title track, “Pills for Breakfast” and “As the Worm Turns.” The band also included the original 8-track demos for four songs and live recordings of “The Jungle” and “New Beginnings” from a 1986 show at San Francisco’s now-defunct club, I-Beam. The reissue will also include liner notes from keyboardist Roddy Bottum and behind-the-scenes photos. A complete track list is below.

The We Care A Lot reissue is available to pre-order on iTunesCD and vinyl.

Faith No More arose out of a unique mingling of subcultures — hippies, punks, dancers, Satanists and more — in early Eighties San Francisco. Working off a handful of demos, the band recorded We Care A Lot at Prairie Sun Studios, which was situated on a farm outside the city. Anchored by the title track, We Care A Lot positioned Faith No More at the helm of hard rock’s experimental front. The album also features original vocalist Chuck Mosley, who was replaced by Mike Patton on the band’s third album, The Real Thing.

Last year, Faith No More released Sol Invictus, their first album since 1997’s Album of the Year.

Faith No More, We Care a Lot Reissue Track List

1. “We Care A Lot”
2. “The Jungle”
3. “Mark Bowen”
4. “Jim”
5. “Why Do You Bother”
6. “Greed”
7. “Pills for Breakfast”
8. “As The Worm Turns”
9. “Arabian Disco”
10. “New Beginnings”
11. “We Care A Lot” — 2016 Mix
12. “Pills for Breakfast” — 2016 Mix
13. “As The Worm Turns” — 2016 Mix
14. “Greed”— Original Demo
15. “Mark Bowen”— Original Demo
16. “Arabian Disco”— Original Demo
17. “Intro”— Original Demo
18. “The Jungle”— I-Beam, San Francisco, 1986
19. “New Beginnings”— I-Beam, San Francisco, 1986

In This Article: Faith No More


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.