Explosions in the Sky Return With New LP 'The Wilderness' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Explosions in the Sky Return With New LP ‘The Wilderness’

Post-rock veterans tease sixth album, out in March, with thunderous “Disintegration Anxiety”

Explosions in the SkyExplosions in the Sky

Nick Simonite

Instrumental post-rock veterans Explosions in the Sky will release their sixth studio album, The Wilderness, on April 1st worldwide via Temporary Residence Ltd. Pre-orders are available now at the band’s website, label site and other retailers

The Wilderness, co-produced by the band and longtime collaborator John Congleton, is the Texas quartet’s first non-soundtrack release since 2011’s Take Care, Take Care, Take Care. Following that LP, the band recorded scores for the 2013 comedy-drama Prince Avalanche, the war movie Lone Survivor released in the same year and the 2014 drama Manglehorn

The group’s thunderous album track “Disintegration Anxiety” is available for streaming and as an instant download with all pre-orders. The four-minute cut veers from Michael James’ droning bass to a jittery math-rock groove built on the trademark, web-like guitars of Munaf Rayani and Mark T. Smith. Drummer Chris Hrasky anchors the cinematic shifts with a distorted, Bonham-esque touch.

Explosions in the Sky recently announced a UK/Ireland tour commencing April 19th in Glasgow. The trek will include an appearance at North Carolina’s Moogfest and a headlining performance at London’s legendary Royal Albert Hall. A full list of shows is available at the band’s website

The Wilderness Track List

1. “Wilderness”
2. “The Ecstatics”
3. “Tangle Formations”
4. “Logic of a Dream”
5. “Disintegration Anxiety”
6. “Losing the Light”
7. “Infinite Orbit”
8. “Colors in Space”
9. “Landing Cliffs”

In This Article: Explosions in the Sky


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.