Early Television, Richard Hell Songs to Feature on New Box Set - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Early Television, Richard Hell Songs to Feature on New Box Set

‘Ork Records: New York, New York’ to focus on mid-to-late-Seventies proto-punk and rock & roll


The box set 'Ork Records: New York, New York' will collect early recordings by Television, Richard Hell and others.

Richard E. Aaron/Redferns/Getty

A new box set will collect the entire “known” output of early punk label Ork Records put out in the mid-Seventies, including songs by Television, ex-Television guitarist Richard Hell, Big Star and Box Tops frontman Alex Chilton, Dead Boys guitarist Cheetah Chrome and critic and former Rolling Stone contributor Lester Bangs, among others. The two-CD and four-LP set, Ork Records: New York, New York comes on the heels of the vinyl-only Ork: Box, which came out in a limited edition on Record Store Day.

The release, which will come out on October 30th via Numero Group, also comes with a 120-page book containing photos and stories about the label, which Television’s manager, Terry Ork, founded in order to put out their debut seven-inch, “Little Johnny Jewel.”

The imprint put out new music from punk and rock & roll bands between 1975 and 1979. Both the vinyl and CD editions of Ork Records: New York, New York will also be available in a version that includes a bonus 45 containing two previously unreleased tracks by the Feelies, “A Boy Next Door” backed with a cover of Burt Bacharach’s “My Little Red Book.” That edition will be limited to a pressing of 2,000.

ork records box set

The previously released Ork: Box contained 16 seven-inches including “Little Johnny Jewel,” Television guitarist Richard Lloyd’s “Get Off My Cloud,” Chilton’s “Singer Not the Song” and Chrome’s “Still Wanna Die.” The new box set contains 49 songs total, including the ones from the previous box set. A trailer for the new box set is viewable here.

Ork Records: New York, New York Track List:

1. Television – “Little Johnny Jewel”
2. Feelies – “Fa Ce La”
3. Richard Hell – “(I Belong to the) Blank Generation”
4. The Revelons – “The Way (You Tough My Hand)”
5. Erasers – “I Won’t Give Up”
6. Alex Chilton – “All of the Time”
7. Chris Stamey and the dBs – “(I Thought) You Wanted to Know”
8. Prix – “Zero”
9. Marbles – “Red Lights”
10. Alex Chilton – “Take Me Home & Make Me Like It”
11. Prix – “Girl”
12. The Idols – “Girl That I Love”
13. Mick Farren and the New Wave – “Lost Johnny”
14. Cheetah Chrome – “Still Wanna Die”
15. The Idols – “You”
16. The Student Teachers – “Christmas Weather”
17. Erasers – “It Was So Funny (The Song That They Sung)”
18. Richard Hell – “(I Could Live With You) (In) Another World”
19. Chris Stamey – “The Summer Sun”
20. Alex Chilton – “Free Again”
21. Richard Lloyd – “(I Thought) You Wanted to Know”
22. The Student Teachers – “Channel 13”
23. Chris Stamey – “Where the Fun Is”
24. Prix – “Everytime I Close My Eyes”
25. Feelies – “Forces at Work”
26. Marbles – “Fire and Smoke”
27. The Revelons – “97 Tears”
28. Cheetah Chrome – “Take Me Home”
29. Richard Hell – “You Gotta Lose”
30. Chris Stamey and the dBs – “If and When”
31. Mick Farren and the New Wave – “Play With Fire”
32. Richard Lloyd – “Get Off My Cloud”
33. Alex Chilton – “The Singer Not the Song”
34. Richard Lloyd – “Connection”
35. Alex Chilton – “Summertime Blues”
36. Mick Farren and the New Wave – “To Know Him Is to Love Him”
37. Link Cromwell – “Crazy Like a Fox”
38. Link Cromwell – “Shock Me”
39. Kenneth Higney – “I Wanna Be the King”
40. Lester Bangs – “Let It Blurt”
41. Alex Chilton – “Bangkok”
42. Peter Holsapple – “Big Black Truck”
43. Prix – “She Might Look My Way”
44. Alex Chilton – “Can’t Seem to Make You Mine”
45. Prix “Love You All Day Long”
46. Alex Chilton – “Shakin’ The World”
47. Prix – “Love You Tonight”
48. Lester Bangs – “Live”
49. Kenneth Higney – “Funky Kinky”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.