DJ Shadow Announces New LP 'The Mountain Will Fall' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

DJ Shadow Announces New LP ‘The Mountain Will Fall,’ Unveils Title Track

Run the Jewels, Nils Frahm and more guest on influential DJ/producer’s first album in five years

DJ Shadow; Album; Music; The Mountain Will FallDJ Shadow; Album; Music; The Mountain Will Fall

DJ Shadow has announced his new album 'The Mountain Will Fall' and has shared the LP's cascading, liberating title track.

Derick Daily

DJ Shadow has announced his new LP The Mountain Will Fall, the influential producer’s first full-length album since 2011’s The Less You Know, the Better. Shadow also unveiled the album’s cascading opener and title track on Beats 1 Friday. The Mountain Will Fall is due out June 24th; fans who pre-order the album will receive an instant download of “The Mountain Will Fall.”

The Mountain Will Fall guests include Run the Jewels, Nils Frahm, Matthew Halsall, his Nite School Klik associate G Jones, his Liquid Amber imprint signee Bleep Bloop and more. For his latest album, in addition to his pioneering work with sampling, Shadow focused on original composition and experimentation with instruments ranging from synthesizers, horns and woodwinds.

The album’s title was taken from a series of tweets Shadow sent in July 2015 when he first revealed he was beginning work on his new LP. “It’s like being at base camp and looking up at an unconquerable mountain; can’t dwell on the difficulty, you have to just start the journey,” he tweeted. “One step follows the next which leads the way to the next. There will be missteps but as long as the vision is whole, the mountain will fall.”

DJ Shadow; The Mountain Will Fall

The Mountain Will Fall also features Shadow’s monstrous “Swerve,” which he released in December, as an iTunes bonus track.

The Mountain Will Fall Track List

1. “The Mountain Will Fall”
2. “Nobody Speak (feat. Run the Jewels)”
3. “Three Ralphs”
4. “Bergschrund (feat. Nils Frahm)”
5. “The Sideshow (feat. Ernie Fresh)”
6. “Depth Charge”
7. “Mambo”
8. “Ashes to Oceans (feat. Matthew Halsall)”
9. “Pitter Patter (feat. G Jones & Bleep Bloop)”
10. “California”
11. “Ghost Town”
12. “Suicide Pact”
13. “Swerve (iTunes Bonus Track)”

In This Article: DJ Shadow


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.