Depeche Mode to Issue Concert Film 'Live in Berlin' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Depeche Mode to Issue Concert Film Shot Partially in Former German Brothel

The Anton Corbijn–directed film, out this fall, draws from two shows the band played in Berlin last year

Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode performs live in Berlin, GermanyDave Gahan of Depeche Mode performs live in Berlin, Germany

Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode performs live in Berlin, Germany on November 25th, 2013.

Frank Hoensch/Getty

Toward the end of Depeche Mode‘s extensive world tour last year in support of their most recent album, 2013’s Delta Machine, director Anton Corbijn filmed two dates in Berlin for release as a two-hour concert film, Depeche Mode Live in Berlin, due out this fall. The group played career-spanning sets on the tour and the two-hour film features performances of hits like “Enjoy the Silence,” “Personal Jesus,” “Just Can’t Get Enough” and “Walking in My Shoes.”

A deluxe version of the concert film also includes CDs of the audio and a second DVD containing Alive in Berlin, a different version of the film that includes the full set, interpolated with band and fan interviews, behind-the-scenes footage and a two-song acoustic set. The group recorded the bonus tracks at the Bel Ami, a long-running Berlin brothel. The deluxe edition also contains Delta Machine, mixed in 5.1 surround sound on Blu-ray audio. It will be packaged in a special lift-off box with CD mini-jackets to house the discs and a 16-page booklet.

Alive in Berlin is a record of Depeche Mode visiting Berlin for two concerts and the impact it has on fans following the band,” Corbijn said in a statement. “Berlin has a special place in the hearts of Depeche Mode. Likewise, Depeche Mode has a strong following in the German capital and the film tries to capture the highlights of these concerts as well as that special connection through interviews with fans and bands alike.”

The concert film will be available on November 17th.

Depeche Mode Live in Berlin DVD Track List:

1. “Intro”
2. “Welcome to My World”
3. “Angel”
4. “Walking in My Shoes”
5. “Precious”
6. “Black Celebration”
7. “Should Be Higher”
8. “Policy of Truth”
9. “The Child Inside”
10. “But Not Tonight”
11. “Heaven”
12. “Soothe My Soul”
13. “A Pain That I’m Used To”
14. “A Question of Time”
15. “Enjoy the Silence”
16. “Personal Jesus”
17. “Shake the Disease”
18. “Halo”
19. “Just Can’t Get Enough”
20. “I Feel You”
21. “Never Let Me Down Again”
22. “Goodbye”
23. “Credits”

Alive in Berlin Bordello Track List:

1. “Condemnation”
2. “Judas”

In This Article: Depeche Mode


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.