Conor Oberst Details New Album 'Ruminations' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Conor Oberst Details New Album ‘Ruminations’

“Winter in Omaha can have a paralyzing effect on a person, but in this case it worked in my favor,” artist says of recording in hometown

Conor Oberst

Conor Oberst has announced his new album 'Ruminations,' which he penned and recorded in his hometown of Omaha, NE.

Scott Dudelson/Getty

Conor Oberst has announced his forthcoming new solo album. Ruminations, which was penned and recorded in the singer’s hometown of Omaha, NE, will be released on October 14th via Nonesuch.

“I wasn’t expecting to write a record. I honestly wasn’t expecting to do much of anything. Winter in Omaha can have a paralyzing effect on a person, but in this case it worked in my favor,” he said in a statement. “I was just staying up late every night playing piano and watching the snow pile up outside the window. Next thing I knew I had burned through all the firewood in the garage and had more than enough songs for a record. I recorded them quick to get them down but then it just felt right to leave them alone.”

Tracked at ARC Studios, which he created with Bright Eyes bandmate and collaborator Mike Mogis, the 10-song set was recorded with the help of engineer Ben Brodin and was completed over the course of 48 hours. Oberst performed all of the instrumentation himself on guitar, piano and harmonica.

Ruminations is available for pre-order on iTunes and Nonesuch, and a limited number of pre-orders will come packaged with a signed print.

The artist embarks on a tour this month, beginning August 18th in Grand Island, NE at 309 N. Pine Street and wrapping on December 10th at the Cathedral Sanctuary at Immanuel Presbyterian Church in Los Angeles.

Last month, Oberst performed with M. Ward and My Morning Jacket’s Jim James for a surprise semi-reunion of their band Monsters of Folk.

Ruminations Track List

1. “Tachycardia”
2. “Barbary Coast (later)”
3. “Gossamer Thin”
4. “Counting Sheep”
5. “Mamah Borthwick (A Sketch)”
6. “The Rain Follows the Plow”
7. “A Little Uncanny”
8. “Next of Kin”
9. “You All Loved Him Once”
10. “Till St. Dymphna Kicks Us Out”

In This Article: Bright Eyes, Conor Oberst


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.