Coldplay Ready 'Ghost Stories Live 2014' Set - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Coldplay Ready ‘Ghost Stories Live 2014’ Set With Eight Music Videos

Band’s latest live CD/DVD will feature highlights from recent tour and full album performance from Sony Studios

Chris Martin of Coldplay perform in Los Angeles, California on May 16th, 2014.Chris Martin of Coldplay perform in Los Angeles, California on May 16th, 2014.

Chris Martin of Coldplay perform in Los Angeles, California on May 16th, 2014.

Jason Kempin/Getty

Ever since Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends, Coldplay have followed up each studio release with a live album. That streak will continue on November 24th as Chris Martin and company will present their minimalist 2014 breakup album Ghost Stories in three different ways with the CD/DVD set Ghost Stories Live 2014.

Focusing entirely on tracks from the band’s latest LP, the live CD culls highlights from shows throughout the band’s brief Ghost Stories trek, while the DVD/Blu-ray will feature Coldplay’s performance at a custom-built amphitheater at Los Angeles’ Sony Studios. Watch a trailer for the upcoming live album below:

Portions of the Sony Studios gig previously aired during an NBC music special, but Ghost Stories Live 2014 presents the entire performance sequenced in the same order as the album. “The Ghost Stories show at Sony Studios was a very special moment for our band,” Martin said in a statement. “The magic theatre built by our incredible crew with the 360 screens was literally a dream come true. And it was the first time anyone outside of our studio had heard the new songs. This film is basically our original vision for the Ghost Stories album.” Grammy-nominated director Paul Dugdale filmed the Sony Studios performance.

Taking a page from the Beyoncé playbook, the DVD/Blu-ray also contains music videos for eight of Ghost Stories‘ nine tracks – including an extended director’s cut of “Magic,” which features a new cameo by actor Peter Fonda – plus two more for the non-album bonus tracks “Ghost Story” and “All My Friends.”

Ghost Stories Live 2014
1. “Always In My Head (Live at the Royal Albert Hall, London)”
2. “Magic (Live at the Enmore Theatre, Sydney)”
3. “Ink (Live at Le Casino de Paris, Paris)”
4. “True Love (Live at the Enmore Theatre, Sydney)”
5. “Midnight (Live at the Royal Albert Hall, London)”
6. “Another’s Arms (Live at the Beacon Theatre, New York)”
7. “Oceans (Live at E-Werk, Cologne)”
8. “A Sky Full Of Stars (Live at the Royal Albert Hall, London)”
9. “O (Live at Royce Hall, Los Angeles)”

Sony Studios performance
1. “Always In My Head”
2. “Magic”
3. “Ink”
4. “True Love”
5. “Midnight”
6. “Another’s Arms”
7. “Oceans”
8. “A Sky Full Of Stars”
9. “O”

Music videos:
1. “Midnight”
2. “Magic (Extended Director’s Cut)”
3. “A Sky Full Of Stars”
4. “True Love”
5. “Ink (Live at the Royal Albert Hall)”
6. “All Your Friends”
7. “Ghost Story”
8. “Always In My Head (Artwork Animation)”
9. “Always In My Head (Alternate Live Take)”
10. “Oceans (Alternate Live Take)”

In This Article: Coldplay


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.