Cassius Announce New Album 'Ibifornia,' Drop Two New Tracks - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Cassius Announce New Album ‘Ibifornia,’ Drop Two New Tracks

Dance duo’s first LP in 10 years features Mike D, Cat Power, Pharrell Williams, Ryan Tedder and more

French electronic duo Cassius have announced their new guest-filled album Ibifornia, their first studio album in a decade. In addition to Mike D and Cat Power, who appear on the LP’s first single “Action,” Ibifornia also boasts guests like Ryan Tedder, Jaw, Portugal. The Man’s John Gourley and Pharrell Williams. Williams teams up with Cat Power on the latest offering from the album, the trance anthem “Go Up.”

Williams previously worked with Cassius on the duo’s “Eye Water,” off their 2006 album 15 Again. “Go Up” fits the vibe of what Cassius’ Phillippe Zdar calls “the Cassius and the Family Stone”; the album title itself is a portmanteau that combines the dusky dance clubs of Ibiza with the sunny, laidback feeling of California. According to the duo, they came up with the album title Ibifornia before even starting work on the album, with the titular place a utopia “inside every one of us.”

Ibifornia touches on a variety of different genres, from Afrobeat and synth-pop to hip-hop and soul, with the latter evident on “The Missing” featuring Tedder and Jaw .

Ibifornia is due out June 24th. The album is available to preorder now; fans that purchase now will receive an instant download of “Action,” “Go Up” and “The Missing.”

Cassius; Ibirfornia

Ibifornia Track List

1. “The Missing” feat. Ryan Tedder & Jaw
2. “Love Parade” feat. Mike D
3. “Action” feat. Cat Power & Mike D
4. “Go Up” feat. Cat Power & Pharell Williams
5. “Ibifornia”
6. “Hey You” feat. Ryan Tedder
7. “Feel Like Me” feat. Cat Power
8. “Blue Jean Smile” feat. Portugal. The Man’s John Gourley
9. “The Sound Of Love” feat. Jaw
10. “Ponce”

In This Article: Cat Power, Mike D, Pharrell, Ryan Tedder


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.