Buena Vista Social Club Unearth New 'Lost and Found' Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Buena Vista Social Club Unearth New ‘Lost and Found’ Album

Compilation includes cuts recorded during Cuban outfit’s original Nineties sessions and subsequent live and in-studio material

Buena Vista Social ClubBuena Vista Social Club

Jesus 'Aguaje' Ramos of Buena Vista Social Club performs in Istanbul on October 24th, 2014. The group will release their first album in nearly 20 years this March.

Bulent Doruk/Anadolu Agency/Getty

Buena Vista Social Club will return with a new album, Lost and Found, a collection of previously unreleased tracks that will see release on March 24th via World Circuit Records and Nonesuch.

A number of cuts off the new album were recorded during the initial sessions for Buena Vista Social Club, the 1997 album produced by Ry Cooder that featured a number of veteran Cuban musicians who performed at the titular Havana club in the 1950s. Other Lost and Found tracks were recorded in the wake of the self-titled album’s success, both live and in the studio.

“Over the years we were often asked what unreleased material was left in the vaults,” World Circuit’s Nick Gold said in a statement. “We knew of some gems, favorites amongst the musicians, but we were always too busy working on the next project to go back and see what else we had. When we eventually found the time, we were astonished at how much wonderful music there was.”

Lost and Found is currently available to pre-order on iTunes and Nonesuch, and comes with an instant download of album cut, “Macusa.” A trailer for the new album is also available to watch, and a full track list can be found below.

Orquesta Buena Vista Social Club, an outfit boasting several of the group’s original members, has a number of live dates scheduled for 2015 as part of their “Adios” tour. The group returns to the stage on March 6th in Adelaide, Australia, and will tour Europe and South America throughout the summer; There are currently no North American dates scheduled.

Lost and Found track list

1. “Bruca Manigua”
2. “Macusa”
3. “Tiene Sabor”
4. “Bodas De Oro”
5. “Black Chicken 37”
6. “Habanera”
7. “Como Fue”
8. “Guajira En F”
9. “Quiéreme Mucho”
10. “Pedacito De Papel”
11. “Mami Me Gustó”
12. “Lágrimas Negras”
13. “Como Siento Yo”
14. “Ruben Sings!”

In This Article: Buena Vista Social Club


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.