Bryan Ferry's New Album to Feature Flea and Nile Rodgers - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Bryan Ferry’s New Album to Feature Flea, Nile Rodgers and Johnny Marr

“Loop De Li,” the first single from new album ‘Avonmore,’ is streaming now

Bryan Ferry performs at the 2014 Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival on April 18th, 2014 in Indio, California.

Bryan Ferry performs at the 2014 Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival on April 18th, 2014 in Indio, California.

Kevin Winter/Getty

Bryan Ferry has previewed his upcoming album, Avonmore, with the funky, new-wavey single “Loop De Li,” streaming below, and revealed a wide-ranging cast of special guests who helped him make the album. Guitar icons Nile Rodgers and Johnny Marr will feature throughout the album, along with sometime Miles Davis and Herbie Hancock bassist Marcus Miller, and Flea, Ronnie Spector, Mark Knopfler and Maceo Parker. The record will hit stores on November 18th.

The set follows up Ferry’s 2012 album, The Jazz Age, on which he reinterpreted some of his past classics as jazz songs and his last album of originals, 2010’s Olympia. The new album features eight brand new compositions, as well as two covers: Stephen Sondheim’s “Send in the Clowns” and Robert Palmer‘s “Johnny and Mary.” The latter is a collaboration with EDM producer Todd Terje.

Ferry previously sang chilly vocals and played piano on a recording of “Johnny and Mary” for Terje’s recent LP, It’s Album Time. “When we were finishing my Olympia album in 2010, we started to get some of the tracks remixed by contemporary producers,” Ferry explained at the time. “Terje did a fabulous version of ‘Alphaville’, a song I had written with Dave Stewart. After that, we asked him to try remixing [Roxy Music‘s] ‘Love Is the Drug’ and more recently ‘Don’t Stop the Dance,’ both of which worked very well. I eventually met Terje in Oslo when I was on tour with my band, and we got on famously…. I have always liked Robert Palmer’s beautiful song ‘Johnny and Mary’ with its haunting lyrics. Initially we tried it fast like the original, but later Terje gave it a different slower feel, which was much better.”

Prior to the album’s release, Ferry will embark on a short U.S. tour. He will be spending the rest of the year touring Europe.

Avonmore Track List:

1. “Loop De Li”
2. “Midnight Train”
3. “Soldier of Fortune”
4. “Driving Me Wild”
5. “A Special Kind of Guy”
6. “Avonmore”
7. “Lost”
8. “One Night Stand”
9. “Send in the Clowns”
10. “Johnny and Mary”

Bryan Ferry Tour Dates:

September 23 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Riverside Theatre
September 25 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
September 26 – Montreal, QC @ St. Denis Theatre
September 28 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre
September 29 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre
October 1 – New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre
October 2 – Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre
October 4 – Upper Darby, PA @ Tower Theatre

In This Article: Bryan Ferry


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.