Home Music Music News

Bruce and E Street Rise Again

First album in more than fifteen years due in July

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band will release The
on July 30th on Columbia Records, his label for the
past three decades. The album will be the first recording of
all-new material recorded by Springsteen and his longtime crew
since 1984’s Born in the U.S.A., and the first set of new
Springsteen songs since The Ghost of Tom Joad in 1995.

The album was recorded earlier this year at Southern Tracks
Recording studio in Atlanta, with Brendan O’Brien (Pearl Jam)
producing. The fourteen tracks represent the first new recordings
by Springsteen and the E Street Band — keyboardist Roy Bittan,
saxophonist Clarence Clemons, keyboardist Danny Federici, guitarist
Nils Lofgren, singer Patti Scialfa, bassist Garry Tallent,
guitarist Steven Van Zandt and drummer Max Weinberg — to surface
since four were included on the 1995 compilation, Greatest
. Among the songs included is “My City of Ruins,” the song
Springsteen debuted at the America: A Tribute to Heroes
telethon last September.

After releasing Born in the U.S.A. (his best-selling
record to date at fifteen times platinum), Springsteen put the band
on hold and began to release albums under his name alone. Various E
Street Band members made appearances on 1988’s Tunnel of
, 1992’s Human Touch and Lucky Town, and
The Ghost of Tom Joad, but the band wasn’t fully reunited
until the summer of 1999, when Springsteen and the E Street Band
joined for a summer tour that began with a five-night stand in New
Jersey. Last year, the group released Live in New York
, a two-CD recording from a series of shows at Madison
Square Garden.

The Rising track listing:

Lonesome Day
Into the Fire
Waitin’ on a Sunny Day
Nothing Man
Countin’ on a Miracle
Empty Sky
Worlds Apart
Let’s Be Friends
Further On (Up the Road)
The Fuse
Mary’s Place
You’re Missing
The Rising
My City of Ruins


Powered by