Brian Wilson Taps Musical Peers for 'No Pier Pressure' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Brian Wilson Taps Musical Peers for New Album ‘No Pier Pressure’

Kacey Musgraves, She & Him, Beach Boys members and more lend vocals to songwriter’s new album

Brian WilsonBrian Wilson

Brian Wilson of The Beach Boys performs in Los Angeles, California on December 13th, 2012. The singer will release his new album 'No Pier Pressure' this April.

Michael Ochs Archives/Getty

Brian Wilson has assembled an all-star supporting cast for his new album, No Pier Pressure, which is scheduled to arrive on April 7th via Capitol Records. Along with performances from a number of longtime musical peers, including several of his former Beach Boys bandmates, Wilson’s new LP boasts Kacey Musgraves, fun.’s Nate Ruess and She & Him’s Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward.

Wilson began working on his 11th solo LP with longtime collaborator Joe Thomas in 2012 as the Beach Boys reunited for their 50th anniversary, touring the country and releasing a new album, That’s Why God Made the Radio. Initially, Wilson intended to record his new songs with the Beach Boys, but when the songwriter and group parted ways once again, he sought out guest singers to help finish the job.

The Beach Boys that did make the cut include Al Jardine, David Marks and Blondie Chaplin, while Jardine’s son Matt also partook in the sessions along with guitarist and Beach Boys’ “vice principal” Jeffrey Foskett. Along with rising stars like Musgraves and Ruess, Wilson also brought in Capitol Cities’ Sebu Simonian, singer Peter Hollens and trumpet player Mark Isham. No Pier Pressure also features a number of famed session musicians, including Don Was, Dean Parks, Jim Keltner and Kenny Aronoff, as well as members of Wilson’s touring band Scott Bennett, Paul Mertens, Darian Sahanaja, and Probyn Gregory.

In an interview with Rolling Stone last summer, Wilson revealed he’d also called in artists like Frank Ocean and Lana Del Rey for the No Pier Pressure sessions (the former’s contribution did not make the cut, and though the latter reportedly sang on album track “The Last Song,” she does not appear on the final version of the track). Famous for demanding the most out of his musicians and singers in the studios, Wilson spoke about working with Musgraves on “Guess You Had to Be There”: “When it’s good it’s good, when it’s not — do it again. But after three tries, Kacey nailed it. I like the way she just slides over the notes — she has a very cool sound.”

No Pier Pressure will be available both digitally and on CD as either a 13-track standard edition or 16-track deluxe edition (Wilson will release “Don’t Worry,” “Somewhere Quiet,” and “I’m Feeling Sad” as bonus cuts). The 16-track version will also be released as a two-LP set pressed on 180-gram vinyl.

No Pier Pressure Track List

1. “This Beautiful Day”
2. “Runaway Dancer” [featuring Sebu Simonian]
3. “What Ever Happened” [featuring Al Jardine and David Marks]
4. “On The Island” [featuring She & Him]
5. “Our Special Love” [featuring Peter Hollens]
6. “The Right Time” [featuring Al Jardine and David Marks]
7. “Guess You Had To Be There” [featuring Kacey Musgraves]
8. “Tell Me Why” [featuring Al Jardine]
9. “Sail Away” [featuring Blondie Chaplin and Al Jardine]
10. “One Kind Of Love”
11. “Saturday Night” [featuring Nate Ruess]
12. “The Last Song”
13. “Half Moon Bay”

In This Article: Brian Wilson


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.