Brandy Clark Sets Release Date for New Album 'Big Day in a Small Town' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Brandy Clark Sets Release Date for New Album ‘Big Day in a Small Town’

Follow-up to Clark’s breakout ’12 Stories’ will be released June 10th and features a guest appearance by Kacey Musgraves

Brandy ClarkBrandy Clark

LOS ANGELES, CA - FEBRUARY 23: Brandy Clark performs at the CMT Next Women Of Country Tour at The Wiltern on February 23, 2016 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Gabriel Olsen/Getty Images)

Gabriel Olsen/GettyImages

Brandy Clark

On June 10th, Brandy Clark will follow up her critically lauded 2013 debut 12 Stories with the release of Big Day in a Small Town, her first major-label album, released on Warner Bros. Records.

Along with lead single “Girl Next Door,” for which Clark released a Stepford-wife send-up of a video earlier this month, the album includes a cameo from Kacey Musgraves (who contributes harmony vocals) on a track called “Daughter” — a revenge song rife with Clark’s trademark lyrical wit.

Clark says she’s encouraged by the number of women singer-songwriters gaining traction in the country format. “I feel that from what I’m seeing. Kelsea [Ballerini] and Cam both had Number One records. It’s changing, and I think so much of that is just cyclical,” she tells Rolling Stone Country. “A huge era in country music that I’m heavily influenced by is the early to mid-Nineties. Females were so popular then, and I feel like that’s what we’re heading towards.”

For Big Day in a Small Town, Clark teamed up with producer Jay Joyce (Eric Church) and anticipates a stronger presence at country radio because of it. “The production on [the album] is edgier and that’s what I hope for it, that it does get some play and that it brings people to my music,” she says.

Clark will perform at the ACM Party for a Cause in Las Vegas on April 1st — the same day that her album becomes available for preorder.

Here’s the track list for Big Day in a Small Town, all of which was written or co-written by Clark.

  1. Soap Opera – Brandy Clark/Bryan Simpson
    2. Girl Next Door – Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Shane McAnally
    3. Homecoming Queen – Brandy Clark/Luke Laird/Shane McAnally
    4. Broke – Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally/Josh Osborne
    5. You Can Come Over – Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Mark Narmore
    6. Love Can Go to Hell – Brandy Clark/Scott Stepakoff
    7. Big Day in a Small Town – Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally/Mark D. Sanders
    8. Three Kids No Husband – Brandy Clark/Lori McKenna
    9. Daughter – Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Jeremy Spillman
    10. Drinkin’ Smokin’ Cheatin’ – Brandy Clark
    11. Since You’ve Gone to Heaven – Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally

In This Article: Brandy Clark


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.