Bob Marley, Wailers Plan 'Exodus' 40th Anniversary Reissues - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Bob Marley & The Wailers Plan Massive ‘Exodus’ 40th Anniversary Reissues

Ziggy Marley curates ‘Exodus 40 – the Movement Continues,’ a “restatement” of LP

The Marley Family, Island Records and UMe have announced a massive set of Exodus reissues to mark the 40th anniversary of Bob Marley & the Wailers’ landmark Exodus album, which was released on June 3, 1977.

Ziggy Marley is helming a “restatement” version, which will be included in some of the reissue sets. Revisiting his father’s original session recordings, he found previously unused and unheard vocals, lyric phrasing and instrumentation. His “restatement” version, dubbed Exodus 40 – the Movement Continues, utilizes his discoveries, which gives the songs new contexts. 

For example, with “One Love” Ziggy found 10 new lead vocal outtakes and the newfound tape featured ad libs as well. For “Turn Your Lights Down Low” he assembled musicians to record a new music bed, which provides the song a more prominent R&B sway. Ziggy also plans to incorporate music from Exodus into his sets when he embarks on his summer tour beginning June 12th in San Diego.

Three of the four new Exodus sets are due June 2nd. A two-CD package includes the original album along with Ziggy Marley’s “restatement” version. A three-CD set, which will also be available digitally, features the original Exodus, Ziggy’s Movement edition and Exodus Live. There will also be a limited edition gold vinyl version comprising the original 1977 album.

The Super Deluxe four-LP, two 7-inch singles edition will be released on June 30th. It will include the original LP, Ziggy’s Movement version, and an Exodus Live set, which was recorded at London’s Rainbow Theatre the week of the album’s release. The fourth LP is entitled Punky Reggae Party. It packages a previously unreleased extended mix of “Keep on Moving” along with a pair of vinyl 7-inches: “Waiting in Vain” backed with “Roots” and “Smile Jamaica (Part One)” backed with “Smile Jamaica (Part Two).”

Those that pre-order the Super Deluxe set via the Bob Marley website or UDiscoverMusic will receive a digital download of the entire Super Deluxe package along with son Stephen Marley’s reworking of title song “Exodus.” The music bed was reimagined and features different lead vocalists, including Beenie Man, Queen Ifrica and Tarrus Riley, among others. The pre-order bonus will be available on June 2nd in advance of the June 30th physical release.

Exodus is Bob Marley & the Wailers’ ninth studio album. The album was released six months after an assassination attempt was made on Marley while he was in his native Jamaica, which led him to exile in London where Exodus was recorded. The album featured a newer backing band at the time, as the original Wailers disbanded in 1974. Exodus‘ backing band included brothers Carlton (drums) and Aston “Family Man” Barrett (bass), keyboardist Tyrone Downie, percussionist Alvin “Seeco” Patterson, guitarist Junior Marvin and I-Threes backing vocalists Judy Mowatt, Marcia Griffiths and Marley’s wife Rita Marley.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.