Bob Dylan Announces New Rarities Collection - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Bob Dylan Announces New Rarities Collection

Set includes legendary Witmark Demos. Also slated: mono reissues of 1962-1968 albums

Bob Dylan will release the ninth volume of his Bootleg Serieson October 19th, he has announced, confirming recent rumors. This edition will be the first official collection of the Witmark Demos, 47 songs that Dylan recorded between 1962 and 1964 for his first two publishers, Leeds Music and M. Witmark & Sons. The tracks — which Dylan performed with only acoustic guitar, harmonica and some piano, all before he was 24 — include early versions of classics like “Blowin’ in the Wind,” “A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall” and “The Times They Are A-Changin’,” plus 15 more recorded exclusively for the sessions, including “Ballad for a Friend,” “The Death of Emmett Till” and “Guess I’m Doing Fine.” The deluxe set will feature a booklet of photos from those sessions and in-depth liner notes by Colin Escott.

See classic photographs of Bob Dylan from the 1960s

Also on October 19th, Columbia/Legacy will also release Bob Dylan — The Original Mono Recordings, which feature Dylan’s first eight LPs newly mastered from their first-generation mono mixes. The set — which spans 1962’s Bob Dylan through 1968’s John Wesley Harding — will come as a deluxe box and on 180-gram vinyl, and include a booklet of vintage photographs and an essay by Rolling Stone

The complete tracklist for The Bootleg Series Volume 9 — The Witmark Demos:

Disc 1:
1. “Man On The Street (Fragment)”
2. “Hard Times In New York Town”
3. “Poor Boy Blues”
4. “Ballad For A Friend”
5. “Rambling, Gambling Willie”
6. “Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues”
7. “Standing On The Highway”
8. “Man On The Street”
9. “Blowin’ In The Wind”
10. “Long Ago, Far Away”
11. “A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall”
12. “Tomorrow Is A Long Time”
13. “The Death of Emmett Till”
14. “Let Me Die In My Footsteps”
15. “Ballad Of Hollis Brown”
16. “Quit Your Low Down Ways”
17. “Baby, I’m In The Mood For You”
18. “Bound To Lose, Bound To Win”
19. “All Over You”
20. “I’d Hate To Be You On That Dreadful Day”
21. “Long Time Gone”
22. “Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues”
23. “Masters Of War”
24. “Oxford Town”
25. “Farewell”

Disc 2
1. “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right”
2. “Walkin’ Down The Line”
3. “I Shall Be Free”
4. “Bob Dylan’s Blues”
5. “Bob Dylan’s Dream”
6. “Boots Of Spanish Leather”
7. “Walls of Red Wing”
8. “Girl From The North Country”
9. “Seven Curses”
10. “Hero Blues”
11. “Whatcha Gonna Do?”
12. “Gypsy Lou”
13. “Ain’t Gonna Grieve”
14. “John Brown”
15. “Only A Hobo”
16. “When The Ship Comes In”
17. “The Times They Are A-Changin'”
18. “Paths Of Victory”
19. “Guess I’m Doing Fine”
20. “Baby Let Me Follow You Down”
21. “Mama, You Been On My Mind”
22. “Mr. Tambourine Man”
23. “I’ll Keep It With Mine”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.