Black Sabbath to Release 'Paranoid: Super Deluxe Edition' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Black Sabbath to Release ‘Paranoid: Super Deluxe Edition’

Four-disc set features live performance recordings from 1970 and new interviews with all four members

Black Sabbath 1970Black Sabbath 1970

Black Sabbath have announced the release of the four-disc set, 'Paranoid: Super Deluxe Edition.'

Chris Walter/Getty

Black Sabbath have announced the release of Paranoid: Super Deluxe Edition, which is due out in the fall. The four-disc set includes the original Paranoid album, a rare quadrophonic mix of the LP and recordings from two 1970 performances.

It’s packaged with a hardbound book, which features liner notes by Rolling Stone’s Kory Grow that house new interviews with Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Bill Ward alongside photos and other memorabilia, a poster and a replica of the original Paranoid tour book.

Paranoid is important because it’s the blueprint for metal. It led the world into a new sound and scene,” Judas Priest frontman Rob Halford writes in the liner notes, according to a statement.

The first disc houses the 2012 remastered version of the original album, the LP that launched their classics “War Pigs,” “Planet Caravan,” “Iron Man” and the title track. Disc Two comprises a quadrophonic mix, which was originally released on vinyl and 8-track in 1974. The long-out-of-print version has been folded down to a stereo mix for the set.

The final two discs contain performances from 1970. Disc Three comprises previously unreleased recordings from an August 31st show in Montreux, Switzerland. The fourth disc houses recordings from band’s televised performance for public broadcaster RTBF in Brussels, Belgium, which were culled from the RTBF’s master tapes.

Black Sabbath, minus original drummer Ward, are currently on the North American leg of their farewell “The End” tour through November. The End tour wraps with a two-night hometown stint at Genting Arena in Birmingham, England, February 2nd and 4th, 2017.

Paranoid: Super Deluxe Edition will be released on November 11th via Rhino.

Paranoid: Super Deluxe Edition Track List

Disc One: Original Album, 2012 Remaster

1. “War Pigs / Luke’s Wall”
2. “Paranoid”
3. “Planet Caravan”
4. “Iron Man”
5. “Electric Funeral”
6. “Hand of Doom”
7. “Rat Salad”
8. “Jack the Stripper / Fairies Wear Boots”

Disc Two: 1974 Quad Mix fold-down to stereo

Disc Three: Live in Montreux 1970
1. Intro
2. “Paranoid”
3. “N.I.B.”
4. “Behind the Wall of Sleep”
5. “Iron Man”
6. “War Pigs”
7. “Fairies Wear Boots”
8. “Hand of Doom”

Disc Four: Live in Brussels 1970
1. “Paranoid”
2. “Hand of Doom”
3. “Rat Salad”
4. “Iron Man”
5. “Black Sabbath”
6. “N.I.B.”
7. “Behind the Wall of Sleep”
8. “War Pigs”
9. “Fairies Wear Boots”

In This Article: Black Sabbath


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.