Black Sabbath Prep Limited Tour CD With Four New Songs - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Black Sabbath Prep Limited Tour CD With Four New Songs

‘The End’ features live recordings, outtakes from metal group’s final album, ’13’

Black Sabbath; New AlbumBlack Sabbath; New Album

Black Sabbath will sell a limited edition CD on their upcoming "The End" world tour that features four new songs

Christie Goodwin/Getty

Black Sabbath will offer a limited edition CD, The End, on their upcoming final world tour that will feature four new songs.

The metal pioneers recorded the tracks at Shangri La Studios in Malibu with producer Rick Rubin during the sessions for their 19th and final album, 13, which arrived in 2013. While Sabbath had been planning a follow-up to 13, they ultimately scrapped it this fall to focus instead on “The End” tour.

“If we were to do an album before the tour — it would take three or four years to complete the album,” Ozzy Osbourne told Australian site “We want to end it on a high note.”

The second half of the special The End tour disc will feature previously unreleased live recordings from Sabbath’s 13 world tour, including three songs from that album and a rendition of “Under the Sun” from 1972’s Vol. 4. A complete track list is below.

The End will, fittingly, only be sold at shows on Black Sabbath’s “The End” world tour, which begins January 20th at the CenturyLink Center in Omaha, Nebraska. The disc features original artwork by Shepard Fairey and Obey Giant. Sabbath have also commissioned original posters from different artists for each tour stop.

This Friday, Sabbath will release a new video offering a behind-the-scenes look at their preparations for their final excursion. A preview of the clip is available on YouTube and offers, in its quick montage, a shot of a potential setlist.

Black Sabbath’s initial North American run wraps up with a two-night stand at Madison Square Garden in New York on February 25th and 27th. The group will then trek through Australia and Europe, before returning Stateside in August

The End Track List

1. “Season of the Dead”
2. “Cry All Night”
3. “Take Me Home”
4. “Isolated Man”
5. “God is Dead?” (Live Sydney, Australia April 27th, 2013)
6. “Under the Sun” (Live Auckland, New Zealand April 20th, 2013)
7. “End of the Beginning” (Live Hamilton, Ontario, Canada April 11th, 2014)
8. “Age of Reason” (Live Hamilton, Ontario, Canada April 11th, 2014)

In This Article: Black Sabbath


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.