Black Lips Detail New Sean Lennon-Produced Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Black Lips Detail New Sean Lennon-Produced Album

Hear Atlanta outfit’s grimy psych-rock stomper “Can’t Hold On”

The Black Lips Publicity Photo; Musician Sean Lennon attends the "Letters To Andy Warhol" exhibition opening at Cadillac House on November 14, 2016 in New York City.

The Black Lips unveiled a grimy new psych-rock stomper "Can't Hold On" from their upcoming Sean Lennon-produced LP, 'Satan's Graffiti or God's Art?'

Ben Rayner

The Black Lips unveiled their new song, “Can’t Hold On,” from their forthcoming album Satan’s Graffiti or God’s Art?, out May 5th via Vice Records. Sean Lennon produced the album, the Atlanta band’s first since 2014’s Underneath the Rainbow.

“Can’t Hold On” is a gritty garage rocker, fueled by relentless drums and guitars. The occasional organ wail or horn blare fleshes out the ominous mix as singer-guitarist Cole Alexander’s wicked vocals dominate the track.

Satan’s Graffiti or God’s Art? will feature guest vocals from Yoko Ono as well as contributions from Saul Adamczewski of Fat White Family. The Black Lips also reunited with former guitarist Jack Hines, who previously played in the band from 2002 to 2004 and joins new members drummer Oakley Munson and saxophonist Zumi Rosow.

The Black Lips will embark on a North American tour in support of the Satan’s Graffiti or God’s Art? May 2nd at Cat’s Cradel in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The group also appears in Terrence Malick’s new rock drama, Song to Song, which premiered at South by Southwest.

The Black Lips Satan’s Graffiti or God’s Art? Track List

1. “Overture: Sunday Mourning”
2. “Occidental Front”
3. “Can’t Hold On”
4. “The Last Cul de Sac”
5. “Interlude: Got Me All Alone”
6. “Crystal Night”
7. “Squatting in Heaven”
8. “Interlude: Bongo’s Baby”
9. “Rebel Intuition”
10. “Wayne”
11. “Interlude: E’lektric Spider Webz”
12. “We Know”
13. “In My Mind There’s a Dream”
14. “Lucid Nightmare”
15. “Come Ride With Me”
16. “It Won’t Be Long”
17. “Loser’s Lament”
18. “Finale: Sunday Mourning”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.