Bjork Surprise Releases New Album 'Vulnicura' - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Bjork Surprise Releases New Album ‘Vulnicura’

Icelandic singer unveils new album via iTunes two months before scheduled release


Björk has released her new album, Vulnicura, on iTunes just one week after announcing it in a handwritten note and two months ahead of its original March release date. The surprise early release may have been prompted by a leak of the album, which Stereogum reports surfaced over the weekend.

In a note on Facebook, the eccentric Icelandic musician said she wrote six of the nine tracks herself, co-wrote two with Arca — a producer on Kanye West’s Yeezus and FKA Twigs’ LP1 — and penned one with Spaces (a full tracklist is below). Björk and Arca produced much of the album together, while British producer the Haxan Cloak also chipped in on one track, and handled most of the mixing, save for two he mixed with Chris Elms. Vulnicura marks Björk’s first album in four years, and follows 2011’s Biophilia, which arrived complete with its own interactive app.

Björk detailed the making of Vulnicura in another Facebook note posted Tuesday, saying one year into writing, she realized she was making “a complete heartbreak album” with an “emotional chronology” to it. Though she worried at first this trait might seem self-indulgent, she eventually “felt it might make it even more universal.” She added: “And hopefully the songs could be a help, a crutch to others and prove how biological this process is: The wound and the healing of the wound. Psychologically and physically, it has a stubborn clock attached to it.”

In summer 2013, Björk wrote that Arca — real name Alejandro Ghersi — contacted her in the hopes of collaborating on a new project. The timing was perfect, the singer writes, adding it would’ve taken her years to produce the beats herself. “But this enchanted Arca would visit me repeatedly and only few months later we had a whole album!!!” she gushed. “It is one of the most enjoyable collaboration I have had!”

Though there’s no word yet on whether Björk will embark on a full tour behind Vulnicura, she will perform at this year’s Governors Ball festival in June, and has also scheduled six intimate New York City shows. The residency kicks off March 7th at Carnegie Hall, where she’ll also perform on the 14th before moving to the City Center for gigs on March 25th and 28th, and April 1st and 4th. Björk will be joined by Arca at the two matinee shows scheduled for March 28th and April 4th. 

March 7th also marks the official opening of Björk’s Museum of Modern Art exhibition in New York. Titled Björk, the exhibition will feature a visual narrative of the singer’s career as well as a deeply engaging 3-D film from director Andrew Huang.

Vulnicura Track List

1. “Stonemilker”
2. “Lionsong”
3. “History of Touches”
4. “Black Lake”
5. “Family”
6. “Notget”
7. “Atom Dance” (featuring Antony Hegarty)
8. “Mouth Mantra”
9. “Quicksand”

In This Article: Bjork


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.