ASAP Ferg Enlists Missy Elliott, Skrillex, Ty Dolla $ign for New Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

ASAP Ferg Enlists Missy Elliott, Skrillex, Ty Dolla $ign for New Album

‘Always Strive and Prosper’ also features Schoolboy Q, Future, Rick Ross, Chuck D, Big Sean, Ferg’s mom (“Mama Ferg”)

ASAP Ferg; Missy Elliot; Skrillex; Ty Dolla; AlbumASAP Ferg; Missy Elliot; Skrillex; Ty Dolla; Album

A$AP Ferg has recruited Missy Elliott, Skrillex, Ty Dolla $ign and more for his new LP, 'Always Strive and Prosper.'

Taylor Hill/FilmMagic/Getty

A$AP Ferg has recruited an all-star cast of collaborators for his second LP, Always Strive and Prosper. Skrillex, Missy Elliott, Ty Dolla $ign, Rick Ross, Chuck D, Chris Brown and Ferg’s mother (“Mama Ferg”) will appear on the Trap Lord follow-up, out April 22nd via Polo Grounds/RCA Records. As Pitchfork reports, the 18-track album features previously released tracks “New Level” (featuring Future), “Let It Bang” (with Schoolboy Q) and “World Is Mine” (with Big Sean). 

In a recent Stereogum interview, the rapper teased “Hungry Ham” as a collaboration with Skrillex and Grimes, though Crystal Gaines has replaced the latter. “All my features just happened,” Ferg told the site, noting that the guest spots weren’t arranged by his label or middlemen. “[At first] I didn’t have any features on it. Just to get a well-rounded album, I wanted to get guests and friends.”

Clams Casino, Lex Luger, Stargate, and DJ Khalil have been cited as producers for the LP. Last year, the rapper told Billboard he’d been “in the studio” with Madonna and Pharrell. 

The A$AP Mob member’s most recent release is 2014 mixtape Ferg Forever, which featured appearances from Big Sean, M.I.A., Twista and YG, among others. “I feel like I’m a different rapper, and not afraid to express myself,” he told Pitchfork following the tape’s release. “Different is what makes superstars. Michael Jackson was mad different, Jimi Hendrix was mad different. All of the big-ass uber superstars were different and never had to go with what was happening at the time.”

A$AP Ferg – Always Strive and Prosper Track List

1. “Rebirth”
2. “Hungry Ham” (feat. Skrillex and Crystal Caines)
3. “Strive” (feat. Missy Elliott)
4. “Meet My Crazy Uncle” (Skit)
5. “Psycho”
6. “Let It Bang” (feat. Schoolboy Q)
7. “New Level” (feat. Future)
8. “Yammy Gang” (feat. A$AP Mob and Tatianna Paulino)
9. “Swipe Life” (feat. Rick Ross)
10. “Uzi Gang” (feat. Lil Uzi Vert and Marty Baller)
11. “Beautiful People” (feat. Chuck D and Mama Ferg)
12. “Damn Not Again (Skit)”
13. “Let You Go”
14. “World Is Mine” (feat. Big Sean)
15. “Phone Call With Breezy (Skit)”
16. “I Love You” (feat. Chris Brown and Ty Dolla $ign)
17. “Grandma (Skit)”
18. “Grandma”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.