Aphex Twin Alter Ego AFX Preps New EP, Releases New Song - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Aphex Twin Alter Ego AFX Preps New EP, Releases New Song

Richard D. James continues deluge of new music with ‘Orphaned Deejay Selek (2006-2008)’

Aphex TwinAphex Twin

Aphex Twin mastermind Richard James will revive his AFX alter-ego and release a new EP, 'Orphaned Deejay Selek (2006-2008)' this August on Warp.

Kristy Sparow/Getty

Aphex Twin returned last year after a nearly 13-year absence with the lauded LP Syro, and now mastermind Richard D. James has revived his other alter ego, AFX, who will drop a new EP, Orphaned Deejay Selek (2006-2008) on August 21st via Warp.

Album cut “Serge Fenix Rendered 2” is currently available to stream, and boasts a steady four-on-the-floor bump that hits erratically beneath a barrage of glitchy, whirring synths.

Orphaned Deejay Selek (2006-2008) will be available on 12-inch vinyl, as well as CD and digital formats. The eight-track collection marks James’ first under the AFX moniker since the Analord series, which arrived on Rephlex between 2003 and 2005. Orphaned Deejay Selek is available to pre-order, and a complete track list is below.

James has been making up for lost time since the release of Syro, the first proper Aphex Twin album since 2001’s Drukqs. Along with the forthcoming AFX release, James followed up last year’s LP with the new Aphex Twin EP, Computer Controlled Acoustic Instrumentals pt2, which arrived in January. Around the same time, the enigmatic producer began dumping hours of previously unreleased music onto a SoundCloud page attributed to a generic username.

While James did not release any music during his break, the musician remained busy, telling Rolling Stone last year that Syro alone represented “about a fifth of what I’ve done in the last 10 years. One album out of many possible ones.”

Despite cultivating a rabid following over the years, James said he wasn’t sure people were still interested in his music when he was working on Syro. But he noted that a successful Kickstarter campaign to raise money to download the lost Aphex Twin record Caustic Window helped change his mind about releasing new material. “That was really touching, and really sweet,” he said. “And I’m getting a bit older. It’s like, ‘Okay. People out there really, really want stuff off me, so I can’t deny it. Let’s put it out.'”

Orphaned Deejay Selek (2006-2008) Track List

1. “serge fenix Rendered 2”
2. “dmx acid test”
3. “oberheim blacet1b”
4. “bonus EMT beats”
5. “simple slamming b 2”
6. “midi pipe1c sds3time cube/klonedrm”
7. “NEOTEKT72”
8. “r8m neotek beat”

In This Article: Aphex Twin


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.