Alt-J Drummer Thom Sonny Green Trades Folk for Hip-Hop on New Album - Rolling Stone
Home Music Music News

Alt-J Drummer Thom Sonny Green Trades Folk for Hip-Hop on New Album

Musician previews solo debut ‘High Anxiety’ with lustrous instrumental track “Vienna”

Alt-J drummer Thom Sonny Green trades in folk-inflected indie rock for stirring instrumental hip-hop on his new song “Vienna,” the first single from his debut solo album, High Anxiety.

The instrumental cut blends an array of synth sounds to create a mood that’s both ethereal and contemplative. But while the synths are the most upfront aspect of “Vienna,” it’s Green’s drumming that guides the track as he shifts from a steady boom-bap beat to an understated shuffle to a pulsing, cymbal-driven run.

Green will release High Anxiety on August 19th via his own Sudden Records. The 21-track collection is available to pre-order digitally, and on CD and vinyl. Green is also set to perform at the Latitude Festival July 16th in Henham Park, Suffolk in England; tickets are still available.

Hear, Alt-J, Drummer, Vienna, Thom Sonny Green

As for Alt-J, the British outfit has been quiet for much of 2016 since they finished touring behind their 2014 album, This Is All Yours.

High Anxiety Tracklisting

1. “Vienna”
2. “40 Beers”
3. “Market”
4. “System”
5. “Blew”
6. “Arizona”
7. “Oslo”
8. “Ping”
9. “Cologne”
10. “Houston”
11. “Oakland”
12. “VVVV”
13. “Phoenix”
14. “Large”
15. “Palms”
16. “Beach”
17. “Grounds”
18. “Preach”
19. “Christ”
20. “Meh”
21. “Neon Blue”

In This Article: Alt-J


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.