Watch Luke Bryan Crash Beach Party in 'Spring Breakdown' Video - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Watch Luke Bryan Crash Final Beach Party in ‘Spring Breakdown’ Video

Musical ode to singer’s annual beer-and-bikinis bash marks the end of a seven-year tradition

Luke Bryan’s annual beach party now has an official swan song. The country superstar’s new tune, “Spring Breakdown,” commemorates the end of his Spring Break shows in Panama City Beach, Florida. For the past seven years, he has thrown huge beachside concerts that have seen crowds of some 200,000 people. This year’s event, set for March 11th and 12th, will be the last.

“We’re going to end it on a big bang. It’s been an amazing run. If you look at how we entered our spring break process, we just wanted to go play music on the beach,” the singer told reporters at a press conference back in January, quoting Hank Williams Jr.’s “All My Rowdy Friends” as his explanation for ending the run: “The hangovers hurt worse than they used to!”

But one more booze-induced headache will be well worth it. “Let’s raise up our cups/Can’t throw ’em up high enough/Let me buy you one last round/Before I spring breakdown,” Bryan sings in the uptempo tune that seems to leave him fairly emotional in the Michael Monaco-directed video above, which alternates between footage of past Spring Break shows and clips of the singer belting the song in a studio. “Spring Breakdown” is featured on Bryan’s Spring Break… Checkin’ Out compilation album, which comes out March 10th. See its track list below.

The reigning CMA and ACM Entertainer of the Year is also working on his fifth studio album, which will likely be out later this year. One definite song on the upcoming project will be “Kick the Dust Up,” which is also the name of Bryan’s huge tour that begins May 8th. Also on tap for the Georgia native this year is a gig co-hosting the April 19th ACM Awards with Blake Shelton, and an exhibit of Luke Bryan memorabilia at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, running this May through November.

Luke Bryan’s Spring Break…Checkin’ Out Track List:

1. “My Ol’ Bronco”

2.  “Games”

3.  “She Get Me High”

4.  “Spring Breakdown”

5.  “Good Lookin’ Girl”

6.  “Checkin’ Out”

7.  “You and the Beach”

8.  “Night One”

9.   “Like We Ain’t Ever”

10. “The Sand I Brought to the Beach”

11. “Are You Leaving With Him”

In This Article: Luke Bryan


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.