Wade Bowen, Randy Rogers Team for 'Hold My Beer' Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Wade Bowen, Randy Rogers Team for Long-Awaited ‘Hold My Beer’ Album

Tourmates for seven years, the Texas country crooners finally record together

Wade BowenWade Bowen

Wade Bowen plays the Country Thunder Music Festival in Twin Lakes, Wisconsin.

Rick Diamond/Getty Images

Individually, Wade Bowen and Randy Rogers front of two of the most in-demand acts in Texas. But their stripped-down, collaborative Hold My Beer and Watch This tour dates have filled smaller venues for the past seven years and have also fueled great interest in a much-talked-about album from the pair. That collaborative project, Hold My Beer, will finally come to fruition on April 26th. (See the complete track listing below.)

Rogers first met Bowen in San Marcos, Texas, in 2002, and the two became fast friends. But the experience of penning material for the two of them to sing together wasn’t without a hurdle or two.

“It’s always different when you’re attempting to write a song for two guys, versus just sitting down and writing a good song,” Bowen told Rolling Stone Country last summer. “It’s a challenge, but it’s a challenge we’ve brought on ourselves and we’re excited.”

Hold My Beer is now available for pre-order via Bandcamp, with an immediate download of three tracks, including two bonus acoustic tunes recorded live during Hold My Beer and Watch This Tour gigs, and the honky-tonk number “Good Luck With That.”

“We both like the idea of showing loyalty to the venues we played when we were getting started and for the people who supported us during that time,” Rogers told the Dallas Observer last year of the back-to-their-roots tour. “Our bands have outgrown the venues we played back then, so this is a great chance for us to play in rooms like Cheatham Street Warehouse in San Marcos, where I first started. It helps us to stay grounded and true in that sense.”

Wade Bowen made his national TV debut this week, performing “When I Woke Up Today,” from his recently released self-titled album, on Conan. Watch the clip below.

Wade Bowen and Randy Rogers’ Hold My Beer track listing:

1. “In the Next Life”

2. “I Had My Hopes Up High”

3. “‘Til It Does”

4. “Good Luck With That”

5. “It’s Been a Great Afternoon”

6. “I’ve Got Standards”

7. “El Dorado”

8. “Hangin’ Out in Bars”

9. “Lady Bug”

10. “Reasons to Quit”

11. “Lost & Found” (acoustic bonus track)

12. “Trouble” (acoustic bonus track)

In This Article: Wade Bowen


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.