The Secret Sisters - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

The Secret Sisters Serve Deluxe Edition of ‘Needle’

‘Put Your Needle Down’ album, featuring two bonus tracks, to be sold exclusively at Cracker Barrel

The Secret SistersThe Secret Sisters

The Secret Sisters perform at the Americana Music Association Honors

Rick Diamond/Getty Images

Chicken and dumplings and the Secret Sisters, please.

The Secret Sisters, Bob Dylan Conspire on ‘Dirty Lie’ — Song Premiere

The singing siblings will release a deluxe edition of their acclaimed new album, Put Your Needle Down, in all Cracker Barrel Old Country Store locations and online on August 4th. The disc contains two new bonus tracks and will sell for $11.99.

Produced by T Bone Burnett, the album has those same throwback harmonies that put the Secret Sisters on the music map with their 2010 debut, but with more contemporary melodies on several of the tracks this time around. The Alabama-bred sisters, Laura and Lydia Rogers, say there was a conscious effort to make this new project more youthful.

“Our voices just naturally sound like an older time,” Laura tells Rolling Stone. “So with this record, we tried to bridge that gap and modernize it. We’re trying to be younger with this one, but we just can’t get out of that old sound.”

Thus, the title is fitting, even given its many possible interpretations. The Rogers are big fans of vinyl, of course, but Put Your Needle Down was the one phrase within the project’s lyrics (taken from the song, “The Pocket Knife”) that they felt was all-encompassing.

“Every facet of our image and sound, we try to be classic and tasteful,” Laura insists. “But for the imagery of the title, it was kind of, ‘Put your needle down, we’re not these little innocent gentile southern girls. We’ve grown up, we’ve become artists in our own right, we’ve learned a lot about ourselves.”

“We just hope nobody thinks we’re talking about heroin!” Lydia interjects with a laugh. “If you just look at us, you can tell we’re not into that.”

Cracker Barrel has been home to a laundry list of exclusive country albums, including projects by Alabama, Dolly Parton, Kenny Rogers, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Vince Gill and Paul Franklin, Brad Paisley and Zac Brown Band.

The Secret Sisters, Put Your Needle Down: Deluxe Edition track list:

“Rattle My Bones” (written by Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth, and Tim Hanseroth)

“Iuka” (written by Laura Rogers, Lydia Rogers, and Dan Wilson)

“Dirty Lie” (written by Bob Dylan, Laura Rogers, and Lydia Rogers)

“The Pocket Knife” (written by Polly Jean Harvey)

“Let There Be Lonely” (written by Laura Rogers, Lydia Rogers, and Gordie Sampson)

“Black and Blue” (written by Brandi Carlile, Laura Rogers, and Lydia Rogers)

“Lonely Island” (written by Boudleaux Bryant)

“I Can Not Find A Way” (written by Laura and Lydia Rogers)

“If I Don’t” (written by Laura and Lydia Rogers)

“Good Luck, Good Night, Goodbye” (written by Angelo Petraglia, Laura Rogers, and Lydia Rogers)

“Bad Habit” (written by Brandi Carlile, Laura Rogers, and Lydia Rogers)

“River Jordan” (written by Laura and Lydia Rogers)

Bonus Tracks: 

“You’ve Got It Wrong” (written by Laura and Lydia Rogers)

“Next Sunday” (written by Laura and Lydia Rogers)

In This Article: The Secret Sisters


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.