2015 ACM Award Milestone Winners Include Swift, Lambert - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Taylor Swift, Miranda Lambert Among 2015 ACM Awards Milestone Winners

Reba, George Strait, Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney and Brooks & Dunn will also be honored for making ACM history

Taylor Swift Miranda LambertTaylor Swift Miranda Lambert

LAS VEGAS, NV - APRIL 06: Singer/songwriters Miranda Lambert (L) and Taylor Swift attend the 49th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards at the MGM Grand Garden Arena on April 6, 2014 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Kevin Winter/ACMA2014/Getty Images for ACM)

Miranda Lambert Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift returning to country music? Not quite, but the princess of pop is one of a handful of record-setting artists being recognized with a special award from the Academy of Country Music during the ACM Awards next month.

Swift will join Reba McEntire, George Strait, Garth Brooks, Miranda Lambert, Kenny Chesney, Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn, who will each receive a 50th Anniversary Milestone Award commemorating their achievements in particular ACM awards categories. Jeweler David Yurman designed the trophy, which is decorated with black diamonds and crafted in sterling silver and white gold.

Here’s how each of the Milestone Award recipients earned the distinction: Garth Brooks has won a total of six ACM Entertainer of the Year trophies (and is nominated again in that category this year); Kenny Chesney, a triple-nominee for his “American Kids” song and video, has earned four Entertainer trophies and holds the distinction of winning the first fan-voted Entertainer of the Year award. This year’s top nominee (with eight nods), Miranda Lambert has won a total of 18 ACMs – the most for any solo female artist in history; Reba McEntire is a seven-time Female Vocalist of the Year; George Strait, the reigning ACM Entertainer of the Year, has 21 ACM trophies on his shelves; Swift earned her Entertainer honor at the age of 21, making her the youngest-ever winner of that award; and with 27 wins in all, the duo of Brooks & Dunn have the won most ACMs in the awards show’s 50-year history.

The Milestone Awards, as well as all of this year’s other honors, will be presented during the 50th annual ACM Awards telecast, live from AT&T Stadium, just outside Dallas. The show airs live, Sunday, April 19th on CBS.


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.