See Willie Nelson's Moving 'I'll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)' Video - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

See Willie Nelson’s Moving ‘I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)’ Video

The Time Jumpers join the country icon in saluting the late Ray Price

Ray Price’s final, posthumously-released album, Beauty Is… was recorded at Nashville’s ethereal Ocean Way Studios, a century-old building that used to be a church. Behind the board was Fred Foster and conducting the music, which was recorded as a musical love letter to Price’s wife Janie, was Bergen White.

Willie Nelson has somewhat recreated those recording sessions with For the Good Times: A Tribute to Ray Price, which will be released tomorrow (September 16th). Foster and White collaborate with Nelson on the project of Price covers, which includes classics such as “Heartaches By the Number,” “It Always Will Be” and “City Lights.” [See the full track list below.] Vince Gill and his Western swing group, the Time Jumpers join Nelson on half the LP’s tracks, including the bouncy, romantic “I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me).” Watch above as they record the song at Ocean Way.

Nelson and Price were longtime friends — and one time tourmates. Before he made it as a solo artist, Nelson was a member of Price’s touring band, the Cherokee Cowboys. Albums the two recorded together over the years include 1980’s San Antonio Rose and 2003’s Run That By Me One More Time. The two also teamed with fellow legend Merle Haggard for the 2007 collaborative LP, Last of the Breed.

Track List for Willie Nelson’s For the Good Times: A Tribute to Ray Price:

1. “Heartaches by the Number” (featuring the Time Jumpers)

2. “I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)” (featuring the Time Jumpers)

3. “Faded Love”

4. “It Always Will Be”

5. “City Lights” (featuring the Time Jumpers)

6. “Don’t You Ever Get Tired of Hurting Me” (featuring the Time Jumpers)

7. “Make the World Go Away”

8. “I’m Still Not Over You”

9. “Night Life”

10. “Crazy Arms” (featuring the Time Jumpers)

11. “Invitation to the Blues” (featuring the Time Jumpers)

12. “For the Good Times”

In This Article: Willie Nelson


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.