See Lillie Mae's First Video From Jack White-Produced Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

See Lillie Mae’s First Video From Jack White-Produced Album

Singer-musician shares “Over the Hill and Through the Woods” from ‘Forever and Then Some’ on Third Man Records

It’s hard to match the dynamism that is Jack White unleashed on a live stage, but there was always something about the presence of his band member Lillie Mae, who played fiddle, mandolin and provided backing vocals, that indicated she was equally capable of a starring role. 

This was often due to her performance on songs like Lazaretto’s “Temporary Ground,” where her Appalachian tones and sly, smart strings helped bridge White’s renegade blues with subversive southern traditions. Now the two have paired up again, except now it’s Mae’s moment, with her White-produced debut Forever and Then Some set to be released April 14th on Third Man Records. Watch the video for the album’s first single, “Over The Hill and Through The Woods,” above.

Directed by Elise Tyler, the video features haunting shots of a solo Mae, images that echo the song’s tales of loneliness in the wake of a failing romance and the unpredictability of a restless, wandering heart. Melding unique old-time vocal breaks, a rich sonic chug that evokes some Seventies rock psychedelia and evocative storytelling, “Over The Hill and Through The Woods” sets the tone for an album that, like labelmate Margo Price, uses the richness of the American musical catalog to pave new ground.

Mae’s siblings appear on Forever and Then Some, with guitarist Frank Carter Rische, Scarlett Rische on mandolin and harmony vocals from McKenna Grace Rische. Once known as country quartet Jypsi, the brother and sisters charted with the song “I Don’t Love You Like That” in 2008. Also featured on the LP is the Dead Weather and Queens of the Stone age keyboardist Dean Fertita, banjo player Ian Craft, singer-songwriter Carey Kotsonis and Old Crow Medicine Show pianist Cory Younts.

Lillie Mae

Forever and Then Some track listing:

1. “Over the Hill and Through the Woods”
2. “Honky Tonks and Taverns”
3. “Wash Me Clean”
4. “Loaner”
5. “Honest and True”
6. “These Daze”
7. “Forever and Then Some”
8. “Nearing Home”
9. “To Go Wrong”
10. “Some Fine Day”
11. “Dance to the Beat of My Own Drum”

In This Article: Jack White


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.