Randy Rogers and Wade Bowen Ready Live Album 'Watch This' - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Randy Rogers and Wade Bowen Ready Live Album ‘Watch This’

Set for a June 3rd release, the project is the Texas artists’ second collaboration, following 2015’s ‘Hold My Beer’

Randy Rogers, Wade BowenRandy Rogers, Wade Bowen

Randy Rogers and Wade Bowen will release the live album 'Watch This' on June 3rd.

Terry Wyatt/Getty

Longtime buddies Randy Rogers and Wade Bowen have been touring together for almost a decade now and even released a joint album named after those tours in 2015, Hold My Beer: Vol. 1. Still, they’ve never captured the essence of those low-key yet highly entertaining shows until now.

On June 3rd, Rogers and Bowen will release Watch This, a 19-track live acoustic album sourced from their hugely popular tours. Recorded in stripped-down fashion at the House of Blues in Dallas and Cheatham Street Warehouse in San Marcos, Texas — a launch pad for legendary Texan acts like George Strait and the spot Rogers and Bowen first met 15 years ago — the album acts as a companion piece to Hold My Beer: Vol. 1, one of Rolling Stone Country’s 40 best albums of last year.

“We toured as a duo together for eight years before we finally addressed the question: ‘When are you guys going to do a Randy and Wade album?'” Rogers said in a statement. “So, we went into the studio with Lloyd Maines in the fall of 2013 and released Hold My Beer: Vol. 1 on April 20, 2015. We had a lot of fun throughout the entire process and felt the next natural thing to do was release a live acoustic album that reflected what it’s like to be in the room during one of our shows.”

“Nineteen songs is a lot, but we couldn’t bring ourselves to cut any of them,” Bowen adds. “You’ll hear them as we play them during our Hold My Beer and Watch This Tour, and you’ll hear some pretty colorful banter, too. We pick on each other, but it’s all in good fun. Besides, it’s just us, our guitars, two microphones and our friends in the audience. It’s pretty raw, and we wanted to keep it as true-to-live as possible.”

The album will feature songs from both Rogers’ and Bowen’s deep well of windblown Texan country. Rather than signaling the conclusion of their collaborative work, it will actually help kick off the 10th annual trek of their Hold My Beer and Watch This Tour, which begins May 26th in Austin, Texas.

Here’s the complete track list for Randy Rogers and Wade Bowen’s Watch This:
1. “Tonight’s Not the Night” 
2. “Mood Ring”
3. “Buy Myself a Chance”
4. “Trouble”
5. “Interstate”
6. “Songs About Trucks”
7. “In My Arms Instead”
8. “You Had Me at My Best”
9. “Too Late for Goodbye”
10. “Whataburger”
11. “West Texas Rain”
12. “Fuzzy”
13. “Things I Could Do”
14. “Satellite”
15. “One Step Closer”
16. “Kiss Me in the Dark”
17. “Who I Am”
18. “She’s Gonna Run”
19. “Saturday Night”

Wade Bowen, Randy Rogers

In This Article: Randy Rogers Band, Wade Bowen


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.