Nirvana Songs Get Bluegrass Treatment on Inspired New Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Nirvana Songs Get Bluegrass Treatment on Inspired New Album

‘Pickin’ on Nirvana’ adapts Kurt Cobain classics like “All Apologies” and “Come As You Are” for string instruments

Had he not died from a self-inflicted gunshot wound on April 5th, 1994, Kurt Cobain would have turned 50 years old on February 20th. And while the singer and songwriter explored the blues and folk music – most notably during the filming of MTV’s Unplugged in 1993 – he likely wouldn’t have expected his own songs to be performed with banjos and mandolins. A new album, however, does just that. Pickin’ on Nirvana: A Bluegrass Tribute Featuring Iron Horse transforms 11 Nirvana classics like “All Apologies,” “Come As You Are” and “In Bloom” into bluegrass numbers.

Performed by Alabama-based quartet Iron Horse, the album will be released April 22nd on vinyl of for this year’s Record Store Day, with a digital release to follow on April 28th. Previous subjects in the Pickin’ On series include the Beatles, Bob Dylan and Metallica.

Nirvana’s groundbreaking album Nevermind turned 25 last year. The record established Cobain as the reluctant voice of a generation and turned the musical tide at the time, vanquishing slick pop-metal bands to the bargain bin and launching a wave of grunge groups.

Here’s the complete track list for Pickin’ on Nirvana:
1. “All Apologies”
2. “About a Girl”
3. “In Bloom”
4. “Polly”
5. “Drain You”
6. “Pennyroyal Tea”
7. “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle”
8. “Come As You Are”
9. “Sappy”
10. “On a Plain”
11. “Dumb”

In This Article: Nirvana


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.