Neal McCoy Releases Extended Version of Charley Pride Tribute Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Neal McCoy Honors Charley Pride With Extended Tribute Album

Trace Adkins and Darius Rucker are also featured on the 13-track collection of Pride’s greatest hits revisited

Neal McCoy Charley Pride tribute album

Neal McCoy and Charley Pride smile on the set of the "Kaw-Liga" video shoot.

Rick Diamond/Getty Images

Country Music Hall of Fame member Charley Pride will be saluted with the November 3rd release of Neal McCoy’s Pride: A Tribute to Charley Pride — Deluxe Edition, available at Cracker Barrel store locations and online at The 13-track collection of hits originally recorded by the iconic Pride will feature two exclusive bonus tracks not found on the original edition when it was released by Slate Creek Records in 2013. (See the complete track listing below.)

Also spotlighted on the album are a trio of duets: “Roll On Mississippi” with Trace Adkins, “I’m Just Me” with Raul Malo and the Grammy-winning 1972 pop-country smash, “Kiss an Angel Good Mornin’,” which McCoy performs with Darius Rucker.

“I wanted to open people’s eyes about Charley and remind them of all that he has accomplished,” says McCoy of the Mississippi native who broke the color barrier in country music to become one of the genre’s first African-American superstars. “I thought the best way to do that was to just put his music out there and let people hear what great country music sounds like. I am a huge fan of Cracker Barrel and am proud to join their exclusive music program and release a Deluxe Edition of this album so that more people can be reminded of Charley’s amazing musical legacy.”

McCoy and Pride have been friends since 1981, when the country legend met the singer who had won a nightclub talent contest in Dallas. McCoy was soon to be Pride’s opening act and continued to work for him until 1986, when he left to pursue a recording career of his own. He has since scored two Number One hits and a pair of platinum albums. He’s currently touring with Blake Shelton on the Ten Times Crazier tour. Pride, who joined the Grand Ole Opry in 2000 has earned 29 chart-topping hits, three Grammy awards, and was the CMA Entertainer of the Year in 1971.

Veteran music producer Garth Fundis who, as a young studio engineer, was present for many of Pride’s original studio sessions with producer Jack Clement, served as producer for the tribute album, which will also be available for purchase digitally at select retailers.

Pride: A Tribute to Charley Pride — Deluxe Edition Track List:

1. “Is Anybody Goin’ to San Antone”

2. “I’m Just Me” (with Raul Malo)

3. “Kiss an Angel Good Mornin’” (duet with Darius Rucker)

4. “Kaw-Liga”

5. “You’re So Good When You’re Bad”

6. “It’s Gonna Take a Little Bit Longer”

7. “Roll on Mississippi” (with Trace Adkins)

8. “Just Between You and Me”

9. “Mountain of Love”        

10. “Someone Loves You Honey”

11. “You’re My Jamaica”

12. “Why Baby Why” (*)

13. “Let Me Live” (*)  

(*) exclusive bonus tracks

In This Article: Charley Pride, Darius Rucker


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.