Maren Morris Plots 'Hero' Album Release - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Maren Morris Plots ‘Hero’ Album Release

Texas native co-wrote every track on her debut effort, which will hit stores in June

Maren MorrisMaren Morris

Maren Morris' debut album, 'Hero' will be out this summer.

Burak Cingi/Redferns

Maren Morris will release her debut album, Hero, on June 3rd, kicking off a world tour with headliner Keith Urban that same week. The news arrives as Morris heads back to her native Texas for a pair of performances at the 2016 SXSW Festival.

A recording artist since the age of 15, Morris has spent the past decade releasing a string of independent albums. She carved out a reputation as a popular songwriter along the way, too, with artists like Kelly Clarkson and Tim McGraw recording their own versions of her songs. The tides began to shift last year, after one of Morris’ independent releases — a self-titled EP — racked up more than 2.5 million streams on Spotify. Columbia Nashville took note of the EP’s success and re-released the project in November, with “My Church” leading the charge as her first nationwide single. This week, “My Church” sits at Number Five on the Billboard country charts, making it the most successful song Morris has written for either herself or others.

“I think being solely a songwriter helped with perspectives,” says Morris, who co-wrote all 11 tracks on Hero. “I learned to write from different points of view and not just something I would say.”

Tracklist for Maren Morris’ Hero:

1. “Sugar”

2. “Rich”

3. “My Church”

4. “I Could Use a Love Song”

5. “80’s Mercedes”

6. “Drunk Girls Don’t Cry”

7. “How It’s Done”

8. “Just Another Thing”

9. “I Wish I Was”

10. “Second Wind”

11. “Once”

Maren Morris

In This Article: Maren Morris


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.