American Country Countdown Awards Nominees 2014 - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Luke Bryan Leads 2014 American Country Countdown Awards Nominees

Show hosts Florida Georgia Line are just behind Bryan in nominations for the inaugural awards ceremony, set for December 15th

American Country Countdown Awards Luke BryanAmerican Country Countdown Awards Luke Bryan

Luke Bryan performs in Concord, California.

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

After broadcasting the best in country music for more than four decades, the American Country Countdown radio show is gearing up for its own televised awards program. The first-ever American Country Countdown Awards will be held at Nashville’s Music City Convention Center on December 15th, with a live broadcast airing on FOX at 8 p.m. EST. The night’s top nominee, Luke Bryan, is set to perform on the show, as are Florida Georgia Line and Miranda Lambert.

Unlike the CMA Awards, whose winners are determined by association members, or the ACMs, which collects votes from both industry members and fans, the American Country Countdown Awards will hand out its own trophies based on radio airplay and touring stats gleaned from outlets like Soundscan, Pollstar and Mediabase. The only fan-voted category is Breakthrough Artist of the Year, whose contenders are Brett Eldredge, Tyler Farr, Kip Moore, Thomas Rhett and Cole Swindell. 

The list of nominees for the evening’s nine major awards includes the expected crop of A-listers — Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Swift, Lady Antebellum — as well as several names less commonly heard at country awards shows, such as Female Vocalist of the Year hopefuls Danielle Bradbery and Cassadee Pope. Meanwhile, CMA’s reigning Entertainer of the Year, Luke Bryan, leads the overall pack of nominees with seven nods, including Artist of the Year, Album of the Year and two separate entries for Digital Song of the Year. Following closely behind are Florida Georgia Line with six nominations, and Jason Aldean with four. Florida Georgia Line’s Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley are in for a particularly busy night, as they’ll also be hosting the show. Sorry, Kix Brooks!

2014 American Country Countdown Awards Nominees

Artist of the Year

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Florida Georgia Line

Lady Antebellum

Blake Shelton  

Male Vocalist of the Year

Jason Aldean

Dierks Bentley

Luke Bryan

Randy Houser

Blake Shelton 

Female Vocalist of the Year

Danielle Bradbery

Miranda Lambert

Cassadee Pope

Taylor Swift

Carrie Underwood

Group/Duo of the Year

The Band Perry

Eli Young Band

Florida Georgia Line

Lady Antebellum

Zac Brown Band 

Song of the Year

“When She Says Baby,” Jason Aldean

“Beat of the Music,” Brett Eldredge

“Lettin’ the Night Roll,” Justin Moore

“Drink To That All Night,” Jerrod Niemann

“Chillin’ It,” Cole Swindell

Collaboration of the Year 

“This Is How We Roll,” Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan

“Small Town Throwdown,” Brantley Gilbert featuring Justin Moore and Thomas Rhett

“Meanwhile Back At Mama’s,” Tim McGraw featuring Faith Hill

“My Eyes,” Blake Shelton featuring Gwen Sebastian

“We Were Us,” Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert 

Album of the Year 

Crash My Party, Luke Bryan

The Outsiders, Eric Church

Here’s To The Good Times, Florida Georgia Line

Just As I Am, Brantley Gilbert

Platinum, Miranda Lambert 

Digital Song of the Year

“Burnin’ It Down,” Jason Aldean

“Drink A Beer,” Luke Bryan

“Play It Again,” Luke Bryan

“Dirt,” Florida Georgia Line

“This Is How We Roll,” Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan 

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Brett Eldredge

Tyler Farr

Kip Moore

Thomas Rhett

Cole Swindell


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.