Loretta Lynn Plans Holiday Album 'White Christmas Blue' - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Loretta Lynn Plans Holiday Album ‘White Christmas Blue’

Country icon’s first Christmas release since 1966 features three original songs along with seasonal standards

Loretta LynnLoretta Lynn

Loretta Lynn's holiday-themed album 'White Christmas Blue' comes out October 7th.

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

Fifty years after releasing her first holiday-themed LP Country Christmas, Loretta Lynn will release only the second of her iconic career as White Christmas Blue ushers in the festive 2016 season. Due October 7th, the album will feature a combination of Yuletide standards, along with new versions of the title cut from Country Christmas and “To Heck with Ole Santa Claus,” which was first issued as a single during the 1966 Christmas season. In addition to singing on 11 of the tracks, Lynn closes the collection with a recitation of the classic 19th century poem, “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas.”

The centerpiece of the new album, “White Christmas Blue” was penned by Lynn with hit songwriter and musician Shawn Camp, who has collaborated with the country legend since 2007 and provides acoustic guitar and backing vocals on the track. White Christmas Blue is the second volume of music recorded at the Cash Cabin studio in Hendersonville, Tennessee, with Johnny and June’s son John Carter Cash and her own daughter Patsy Lynn Russell. This marks Lynn’s second release this year following Full Circle, which was issued in March. In 1966, Country Christmas was Lynn’s last of three albums released that year, yet at 84 years old, the singer-songwriter hasn’t slowed down much. 

“I work all the time, but it doesn’t feel like work,” Lynn tells Rolling Stone. “My bus is like my home. I have my own shower, refrigerator. I know where everything is on that bus. And that’s better than I can say at home.”

Lynn’s holiday release joins previously announced albums coming this season from Jennifer Nettles, Chris Young and Kacey Musgraves.

White Christmas Blue will be released on CD, LP and digitally and is available for pre-order now.

White Christmas Blue track listing:

1. “White Christmas Blue”

2. “Country Christmas”

3. “Winter Wonderland”

4. “Away in a Manger”

5. “Blue Christmas”

6. “To Heck With Ole Santa Claus”

7. “Frosty the Snowman”

8. “O Come, All Ye Faithful”

9. “Jingle Bells”

10. “White Christmas”

11. “Silent Night”

12. “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas”

In This Article: Loretta Lynn


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.