Kacey Musgraves Taps Willie Nelson for Christmas Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Kacey Musgraves Taps Willie Nelson for Christmas Album

Legendary outlaw brings his trusty guitar Trigger to “A Willie Nice Christmas,” a new song Musgraves wrote for her upcoming holiday record

Willie Nelson, Kacey Musgraves

Willie Nelson sings with Kacey Musgraves on the new holiday song "A Willie Nice Christmas."

Gary Miller/GettyImages

The upcoming holiday season will get even more sparkly this year as Kacey Musgraves puts her unique rhinestone-studded spin on several holiday classics for A Very Kacey Christmas, the singer-songwriter’s first holiday-themed LP. In addition to such Yuletide standards as “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” and “Let It Snow,” the latter of which features Texas trio the Quebe Sisters, the festive collection will include four original tunes co-written by Musgraves.

The album also reunites Musgraves with Willie Nelson, who wrote and performed with her on “Are You Sure,” a hidden track from her most recent LP, Pageant Material. Together, they duet on the Hawaiian-flavored “A Willie Nice Christmas,” penned by Musgraves with frequent collaborators Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne. The song boasts a stocking full of Willie-related references to red bandanas, Luckenbach, Texas, “On the Road Again” and, not surprisingly, includes the line “May we all stay higher than the angel on the top of the tree.” Musgraves’ faithful take on the Polynesian-influenced “Mele Kalikimaka” has the Quebe siblings standing in for the Andrews Sisters, who joined crooner Bing Crosby on his classic 1950 rendition of the tune. Elsewhere, on “Present Without a Bow,” R&B singer Leon Bridge adds a touch of classic soul to the collection.

“Working on my first Christmas album has been one of the most enriching musical experiences I’ve ever had and I can’t wait for everyone to hear it,” says the Grammy-winning singer in a statement. “I really wanted to create a whimsical throwback holiday record, one that evokes feelings of nostalgia and simpler times. I think that the fine musicians and brains that were a part of this project have helped me create a body of music that can be added to people’s classic collections.”

Produced by Musgraves with Misa Arriaga and Kyle Ryan, A Very Kacey Christmas will be released October 28th, 57 shopping days before Christmas.

Here’s the complete track list:

1. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”

2. “Let It Snow” (featuring the Quebe Sisters)

3. “Christmas Don’t Be Late”

4. “A Willie Nice Christmas” (featuring Willie Nelson and Trigger)

5. “Feliz Navidad”

6. “Christmas Makes Me Cry”

7. “Present Without A Bow” (featuring Leon Bridges)

8. “Mele Kalikimaka” (featuring the Quebe Sisters)

9. “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas”

10. “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”

11. “Ribbons and Bows”

12. “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?” 

In This Article: Kacey Musgraves, Willie Nelson


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.