Kacey Musgraves Announces New Album 'Pageant Material' - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Kacey Musgraves Announces New Album ‘Pageant Material’

Follow-up to ‘Same Trailer Different Park’ will be released June 23rd

Kacey MusgravesKacey Musgraves

Kacey Musgraves will release her second album, 'Pageant Material,' on June 23rd.

Leon Morris/Redferns

Kacey Musgraves, who wore the crown as the CMA’s New Artist of the Year in 2013, thanks to the success of her gold-certified debut album, Same Trailer Different Park, is polishing up her tiara: On June 23rd, she’ll release Pageant Material, her highly anticipated second LP.

The two-time 2014 Grammy winner (Best Country Album and Song of the Year for “Merry Go ‘Round”) co-wrote all 13 tracks on the album, with Same Trailer collaborators Luke Laird, Shane McAnally, Brandy Clark and Josh Osborne once again contributing. As she did on her first LP, Musgraves serves as co-producer with McAnally and Laird on Pageant Material, which was recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A. (See the complete track listing and songwriter credits below.)              

“Going back into the studio this time around was really fun and exciting for me because I knew more about myself and my direction,” the Texas native said in a statement. “The majority of Pageant Material was recorded live — which was a bit of a departure from Same Trailer — and gave it more of a concise, classic sound. All of the incredible musicians were in the same room playing on the entire record, and I think that spirit comes across. The last couple of years have done so much for me, and this project was really affected by that in the best way. There are certain moments lyrically that still hit me hard even after listening so many times. It’s a great glimpse into where my head is from Same Trailer to now.”

The first single from Pageant Material, “Biscuits,” is currently climbing the charts. “I am really inspired by really fun country songs,” Musgraves said prior to a performance of the song in Louisville, Kentucky, earlier this year. “I love John Denver. . . when you hear it, it might remind you of that. But I warn you that it might entice some square dancing, so get ready.”

Interestingly, longtime fan favorite “The Trailer Song” is not among the cuts on the new LP. As she gears up for the Pageant circuit, Musgraves, who was among last month’s Stagecoach Music Festival highlights, is on the festival circuit, with upcoming spots at next month’s Bonnaroo in Manchester, Tennessee, and Bumbershoot in Seattle in September.    

Pageant Material track listing (and songwriters):
1. “High Time” (Kacey Musgraves, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally)
2. “Dime Store Cowgirl” (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
3. “Late to the Party” (Musgraves, Brandy Clark, Josh Osborne)
4. “Pageant Material” (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
5. “This Town” (Musgraves, Laird, Clark)
6. “Biscuits” (Musgraves, McAnally, Clark)
7. “Somebody to Love” (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
8. “Miserable” (Musgraves, Osborne, Clark)
9. “Die Fun” (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
10. “Family Is Family” (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
11. “Good Ol’ Boys Club” (Musgraves, Laird, Hemby)
12. “Cup of Tea” (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
13. “Fine” (Musgraves, Ashley Arrison, McAnally)

In This Article: Kacey Musgraves


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.