Jim Lauderdale Plans Texas-Steeped New Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Jim Lauderdale Plans Texas-Steeped New Album ‘This Changes Everything’

Singer-songwriter reprises his George Strait hit “We Really Shouldn’t Be Doing This” for LP due September 30th

Jim LauderdaleJim Lauderdale

Jim Lauderdale will release his new album 'This Changes Everything' on September 30th.

Scott Dudelson/Getty Images

Though singer-songwriter Jim Lauderdale originally hails from North Carolina and has long called Nashville his home, his work both as a songwriter and recording artist bears unmistakable traces of Texas. Lauderdale will explore the influence of Texas when he releases his 28th album, This Changes Everything, on September 30th.

Recorded mostly over one day in Austin, This Changes Everything features contributions from Lone Star musicians such as pianist Floyd Domino (Asleep at the Wheel), Bobby Flores (George Strait), Chris Masterson (Steve Earle) and vocalists Brennen Leigh, Noel McKay and Sunny Sweeney. Among the 11 tracks are songs co-written with beloved Texas musical figures such as Bruce Robison and Hayes Carll. Additionally, Lauderdale records his own composition “We Really Shouldn’t Be Doing This,” which was originally recorded by George Strait for the 1998 album One Step at a Time.

Strait has recorded numerous Lauderdale songs over the years, including “Where the Sidewalk Ends,” “I Wasn’t Fooling Around” and “Twang,” among many others, and the country legend will present Lauderdale with the WagonMaster Lifetime Achievement Award at 2016 Americana Honors and Awards on September 21st at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Lauderdale will also pull double duty as honoree and master of ceremonies as he returns to host the annual celebration of American roots music for the 14th consecutive year.

Lauderdale has several live dates planned around the release of This Changes Everything, including a September 23rd show at Nashville’s 3rd & Lindsley, followed by a September 24th engagement at the Country Music Hall of Fame and an appearance later the same day at the Grand Ole Opry.

This Changes Everything track listing:

1. This Changes Everything (3:32)

2. You Turn Me Around (2:07)

3. It All Started And Ended With You (4:03)

4. The Weakness Of Two Hearts (3:15)

5. Lost In The Shuffle (3:10)

6. There Is A Horizon (2:51)

7. All The Rage In Paris (4:22)

8. Nobody’s Fault (3:07)

9. I’ll Still Be Around (2:54)

10. We Really Shouldn’t Be Doing This (2:26)

11. Drive (3:47)

In This Article: Jim Lauderdale


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.