Jason Isbell Releases 'Austin City Limits' Performance on DVD - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Jason Isbell Plans Live DVD Release of ‘Austin City Limits’ Performance

Fifteen-song set includes ‘Southeastern’ tracks, solo staples, Drive-By Truckers deep cuts and a Rolling Stones cover

Jason Isbell at the RymanJason Isbell at the Ryman

Jason Isbell performs at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium on October 25, 2014

Erika Goldring/Getty Images

When Austin City Limits aired its recent episode with Jason Isbell on January 11, 2014, the TV broadcast only included six songs, cutting down Isbell’s live performance by nearly an hour. Eleven months later, the full, 15-song set can be heard (and watched) on the upcoming Jason Isbell: Live at Austin City Limits, a concert DVD due out three days before Thanksgiving on Isbell’s own label, Southeastern Records. 

Recorded with the full version of his longtime backup band, the 400 Unit — including fiddler/wife Amanda Shires, who’s been flitting in and out of the band’s permanent lineup for the past year and a half — Live at Austin City Limits finds Isbell and company pulling most of their material from the award-winning Southeastern, which was barely two months old at the time of the ACL filming. Older Isbell staples like “Codeine,” “Go It Alone” and “Alabama Pines” are thrown into the mix, too, along with a pair of songs originally written for the Drive-By Truckers. Highlights include “Danko/Manuel,” during which the band kicks up more than nine minutes of slow-moving, melancholic dust, and a cover of the Rolling Stones’ “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking,” anchored by stacked harmonies and plenty of guitar muscle. 

Jason Isbell: Live at Austin City Limits is Isbell’s second live release in two years, following closely on the heels of 2012’s Live from Alabama. Meanwhile, a new studio record is reportedly in the works, with Isbell and the 400 Unit scheduled to hit the studio shortly after wrapping up the final leg support of the Southeastern tour in early 2015. Dates are below, along with the DVD’s track listing. 

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit tour dates:

January 10th – Thackerville, Oklahoma, at Winstar World Casino 

January 17th – Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, at the 30A Songwriters Festival

January 30th – Ann Arbor, Michigan, at the Ann Arbor Folk Festival

February 2nd – Charlottesville, Virginia, at the Paramount Theatre

February 4th – Washington, D.C., at Lincoln Theatre

February 5th – Glenside, Pennsylvania, at the Keswick Theatre

February 6th – West Long Branch, New Jersey, at the Pollak Theatre at Monmouth University

February 7th – New York, New York, at the Beacon Theatre

February 9th – Munhall, Pennsylvania, at Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall 

February 10th – Columbus, Ohio, at the Southern Theatre

February 12th – Chicago, Illinois, at the Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center 

February 13th – Kalamazoo, Michigan, at the Kalamazoo State Theatre

February 14th – St. Louis, Missouri, at the Peabody Opera House

February 15th – Des Moines, Iowa, at the Hoyt Sherman Theatre

February 17th – Kansas City, Missouri, at the Uptown Theater

April 16th – Chattanooga, Tennessee, at Track 29

April 18th – Columbia, South Carolina, at Music Farm Columbia

Jason Isbell: Live at Austin City Limits track listing:

1. “Flying Over Water

2. “Go It Alone”

3. “Alabama Pines”

4. “Decoration Day”

5. “Outfit”

6. “Cover Me Up”

7. “Different Days”

8. “Live Oak”

9. “Codeine”

10. “Traveling Alone”

11. “Elephant”

12. “Stockholm”

13. “Super 8”

14. “Danko Manuel”

15. “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking”


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.