Jake Owen Plots New Album 'American Love' - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Jake Owen Plots New Album ‘American Love’

Singer’s fifth full-length album includes his current single “American Country Love Song”

Jake OwenJake Owen

Jake Owen has revealed plans for his new album 'American Love.'

Erika Goldring/Getty Images

Jake Owen revealed details about his forthcoming fifth studio album today. Titled American Love, the new collection will be available July 29th.

Shane McAnally and Ross Copperman co-produced eight of the 11 songs on American Love, which includes Owen’s current single “American Country Love Song.” Owen also self-produced for the first time, sharing the duty with Lukas Bracewell on songs like “VW Van.” Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Chris Stapleton provides some backing vocal support, as does songwriter Hillary Lindsey. 

Notably, Owen’s previous single “Real Life” is not included the final track listing. Released in 2015, the tune saw Owen stretching out stylistically with touches of Nineties alternative-rock but stalled in the high teens. He followed up in 2016 with “American Country Love Song,” which was written by Copperman with Ashley Gorley and Jaren Johnston and currently sits at Number 17 on Billboard‘s Country Airplay chart.

After an outstanding run of successive Number Ones that included “Barefoot Blue Jean Night” and “Alone With You,” Owen has had a little more difficulty reaching the top of the chart in recent years. His songs “Days of Gold” and the moving ballad “What We Ain’t Got” were both Top 20 hits, but only “Beachin'” made it to the top of the chart.

Owen’s next live date takes place May 26th in Herrin, Illinois. He’ll also appear on select dates of Kenny Chesney’s Spread the Love Tour this summer when it plays stadiums.

Here is the American Love track listing:
1. “American Love”
2. “After Midnight”
3. “Where I Am”
4. “Everybody Dies Young”
5. “VW Van”
6. “Good Company”
7. “LAX”
8. “If He Ain’t Gonna Love You”
9. “When You Love Someone”
10. “You Ain’t Going Nowhere”
11. “American Country Love Song”

Jake Owen

In This Article: Jake Owen


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.