Hear the Mavericks' Live 'Come Unto Me' From New Album - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Hear the Mavericks’ Boisterous ‘Come Unto Me’ From New Live Album

Song appears on the band’s upcoming ‘All Night Live Volume 1,’ due in October

The Mavericks

Guitarist Eddie Perez and the Mavericks will release a live album in October.

Kevork Djansezian/GettyImages

From their 1994 breakout What a Crying Shame to last year’s Mono, the studio albums by the Mavericks are unfailingly satisfying. Even so, they can’t fully re-create the energy of the band’s intoxicating live shows. Which is why the group will release a live album, their first since their 2012 reunion, on October 14th. All Night Live Volume 1 captures the self-described “pop-dance” band in their onstage element. Listen to the premiere of the album track “Come Unto Me” below.

“This album is a snapshot of where this band is now musically,” says singer Raul Maulo. “The Mavericks are a lot of different things to a lot of different people, and sometimes that’s hard to capture in a studio recording.”

Formed in Miami in 1989, the Mavericks — now made up of Malo, guitarist Eddie Perez, keys player Jerry Dale McFadden and drummer Paul Deakin — released a string of lauded albums highlighting their broad world-music style before taking a lengthy break in 1999. They regrouped in 2012 with renewed vigor and recommitted themselves to touring, playing festivals, cruises and the clubs in which they are most at home.

“What we do on tour, night after night, hopefully feels special to the people in the room,” says Malo of the decision to release All Night Live. “Now everyone can be in that room.”

Here’s the track listing for All Night Live Volume 1:

1. “All Night Long”

2. “All Over Again”

3. “Stories We Could Tell”

4. “What You Do to Me”

5. “Fall Apart”

6. “Do You Want Me To”

7. “Back in Your Arms Again”

8. “As Long as There’s Lovin’ Tonight”

9. “Pardon Me”

10. “Summertime”

11. “Every Little Thing About You”

12. “I Said I Love You”

13. “Harvest Moon”

14. “Dance in the Moonlight”

15. “Come Unto Me”

16. “Waiting for the World to End”

In This Article: The Mavericks


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.