Hear Reba's 'Softly and Tenderly' With Kelly Clarkson - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Hear Reba’s ‘Softly and Tenderly’ With Kelly Clarkson, Trisha Yearwood

Song appears on the superstar’s new double-disc collection ‘Sing It Now: Songs of Faith & Hope’

Reba McEntire congregates with family and friends on her upcoming LP Sing It Now: Songs of Faith & Hope, a two-disc set coming February 3rd. The singer-actress, who unveiled the project during a Facebook Live chat with fans on Thursday, co-produced the inspirational album with Rascal Flatts’ member Jay DeMarcus and band leader/musical director Doug Sisemore in DeMarcus’ home studio. The mother and sisters of the Oklahoma-born superstar join her on the album.

“Music conjures up great memories and goes hand-in-hand with us McEntires,” she says. “Mama, Susie and Alice even came into the studio with me to record ‘I’ll Fly Away,’ all of us gathered around an old hymnal straight from the Chockie [Oklahoma] church.”

The first disc is focused on more traditional hymns, including the first tune the Country Music Hall of Fame member ever sang in public: “Jesus Loves Me.” More contemporary material forms the basis of the second disc, including “Back to God,” written by Randy Houser and Dallas Davidson, and a song that Reba and her mother, Jackie McEntire, co-wrote, “I Got the Lord on My Side.”

Reba’s longtime friends Kelly Clarkson and Trisha Yearwood join her on a delicate version of the classic hymn “Softly and Tenderly.” A lyric video for the tune has been released and the track is available with pre-orders of the album. (Listen above.)

The new music – along with four decades of hits – will be spotlighted at the “Fancy” singer’s first-ever headlining show at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on February 15th. Tickets for the event went on sale Thursday evening. Also in February, Reba and Brooks & Dunn return to Caesars Palace for their Together in Vegas show, which is now the longest-running country-music show in the Colosseum showroom’s history.

Sing It Now: Songs of Faith & Hope track listing:

Disc One

1. “Jesus Loves Me”
2. “Oh, How I Love Jesus”
3. “When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder”
4. “Oh Happy Day”
5. “Amazing Grace”
6. “I’ll Fly Away”
7. “In the Garden”/”Wonderful Peace” (Medley) (featuring the Isaacs)
8. “Swing Low Sweet Chariot”/”Swing Down Chariot” (Medley)
9. “How Great Thou Art”
10. “Softly and Tenderly” (featuring Kelly Clarkson and Trisha Yearwood)

Disc Two

1. “Sing It Now”
2. “Angels Singin'”
3. “God and My Girlfriends”
4. “Hallelujah, Amen”
5. “There Is a God”
6. “I Got the Lord on My Side”
7. “Back to God”
8. “Angel on My Shoulder”
9. “From the Inside Out”
10. “Say a Prayer”
11. Hidden track (physical disc only): “Jesus Loves Me (Reprise)”

In This Article: Reba McEntire


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.