Hear Eric Church and the Rodeo Kings' 'Bury My Heart' - Rolling Stone
Country Flag
Home Music Country Music

Hear Eric Church, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings’ Brooding ‘Bury My Heart’

Song appears on the Canadian supergroup’s upcoming album ‘Kings and Kings,’ due in January

eric church, blackie and the rodeo kings, colin linden, eric church duet, eric church blackie and the rodeo kings, bury my heart eric church, kings and kings blackie rodeo kings, eric church song, blackie and the rodeo kings band

Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, featuring Colin Linden, recruited Eric Church for the song "Bury My Heart" on the band's new album.

Rick Diamond/Getty, Kevin Winter/Getty

Canadian roots-music heroes Blackie and the Rodeo Kings enlisted an all-star lineup of female vocalists – Lucinda Williams, Rosanne Cash and Emmylou Harris, among them – for their 2011 album Kings and Queens. Now the singer-songwriter supergroup of Colin Linden, Stephen Fearing and Tom Wilson are playing with the boys, releasing their new album Kings and Kings in the U.S. on January 13th.

Jason Isbell, Vince Gill, Buddy Miller, Raul Malo and Eric Church all turn up on the project, with Church elevating the brooding track “Bury My Heart” with his distinctly nasal delivery. It’s the type of nuanced, impassioned vocal performance that reinforces his nomination for Male Vocalist at the upcoming CMA Awards. “Bury My Heart” premieres exclusively on Rolling Stone Country below.

Formed in 1996 as a tribute to songwriter Willie P. Bennett (who released the album Blackie and the Rodeo Kings in 1979), the group has released eight albums, most recently 2014’s South. Other artists on Kings and Kings include Rodney Crowell, City and Colour, Fantastic Negrito, Nick Lowe and, keeping with the album’s theme, the male stars of Nashville: Sam Palladio, Chris Carmack, Charles Esten and Jonathan Jackson. Linden, who resides in Nashville, serves as a technical advisor on the series.

Here’s the Kings and Kings tracklist:

1. “Live by the Song” – featuring Rodney Crowell

2. “Bury My Heart” – featuring Eric Church

3. “Beautiful Scars” – featuring City and Colour

4. “High Wire” – featuring Raul Malo

5. “Playing by Heart” – featuring Buddy Miller

6. “Bitter and Low” – featuring Fantastic Negrito

7. “Secret of a Long Lasting Love” – featuring Nick Lowe

8. “A Woman Gets More Beautiful” – featuring Bruce Cockburn

9. “Land of the Living (Hamilton Ontario 2016)” – featuring Jason Isbell

10. “Long Walk to Freedom” – featuring Keb Mo

11. “This Lonesome Feeling” – featuring Vince Gill

12. “Where the River Rolls” – featuring “The Men of Nashville

In This Article: Eric Church


Powered by
Arrow Created with Sketch. Calendar Created with Sketch. Path Created with Sketch. Shape Created with Sketch. Plus Created with Sketch. minus Created with Sketch.